Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan Seared Steak (From Alton Brown) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan Seared Steak (From Alton Brown)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      Loved it! Had an 8 oz. tenderloin (about 1 inch thick), did the minute on each side, then 1.5 on each side in the oven. Perfect medium rare! DH says best steak I ever made, and I agree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Fantastic! I am a steak SNOB, and only looked this up because it started raining just as I was about to grill. I dont have a cast iron Skillet, so i just used a nonstick pan to sear it, and then put it in a metal pan to put in the oven. PERFECT Medium rare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This is the only way we make our steaks at home. In fact, after doing this for years now, we no longer order steaks out, because they aren't as tender and tasty. Just be prepared for the smoke detectors to go off when you drop the steak into the pan. At least they always do at our house. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I have practied this way of cooking steaks (typically filet mignon) since I watched Alton Brown's tutorial on Good Eats several years ago. This results in a truly restaurant-quality steak that would easily cost $$$$ at Flemings or Mortens. It took a couple of tries to get them to my liking of rare-medium rare....but well worth the "trial and error". Make sure not to skimp on the Kosher salt... it is one of the keys to the success of this recipe. I sometimes pair the steaks with Ina Garten's gorgonzola sauce (Recipezaar #58072)...it is "to die for"...takes a bit of time, but well worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2014

      I was so disappointed. My husband

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I'd give it a 5, but it just didn't sear the way I had hoped. I have cast iron and it was SMOKING hot coming out of the oven. I like a nice dark char, but I must admit the NY was cooked PERFECTLY!!! Medium rare, juicy and delicious. I'd do it again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      In the words of my husband, "That Mr. Brown is a genius!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      This was EXCEPTIONAL - easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Perfect steak! This will be my "go-to" steak method from now on. Thanks for posting it here

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      Very easy. Steak came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      No apologies here. I love a good steak! I tried this one in a cast iron skillet and was very pleased. Simple prep, simple cook, and great taste. Thanks Dwynnie for a nice keeper. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This worked out just great. I had used another method befor, where I did the whole thing on top of the stove. The smoke was terriable. This way, there was barely any smoke.
      I am so proud I can cook steak. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Fantastic! Plain and simple. This is the way to do a steak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      just amazing..saw ddpd's review and just had to try this method sice I have a extremly well seasoned cast iron skillet ( probabaly a good 35 yrs of constant use and seasoning) this will be the way I do my steaks from now on..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      I made this and it was amazing! Best steak I've had in a long time. With just salt, pepper, and some oil, the flavor of the steak really had a chance to shine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe. The steaks come out perfect! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      This was a great way to cook steaks. They turned out wonderful and tender. I might even make our steaks this way in the summer just because it is so easy! Thank you. I love Alton Brown and all of his recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Have used this method many times since watching Alton do it on TV. The results are always outstanding once you get the timing down. My only complaint is the smoke. Not reason enough to abandon this method though. Alton knows his stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      We used this for 1 1/2" thick pork chops and they came out fantastic! I would say that it is better than grilling on the BBQ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Holy cow was this ever tasty! Cooked just right and so easy to make. DH has rated this an excellent-which hardly ever happens! I'll be adding this to my dinnertime recipe rotation. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan Seared Steak (From Alton Brown)

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rib eye steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes