Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-seared Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-seared Steak

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2012

      Outstanding flavor. But I didn't know how long to simmer the filets - it was just trial and error. I don't like them bloody rare, and I took them out too soon, so they had to go back in... then I still wasn't sure so I cut one open, which I know you shouldn't do. What can I say, I'm not quite "there" as a steak-searing expert. Maybe some more detailed time suggestions would help this recipe, but I realize that steak size varies so it's hard to say. Once these filet mignons made it to the table, they were outstanding. Very flavorful and tender, and the mushrooms were a great addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      WOW. I've had many steaks in my lifetime ranging from Diner to 5 star quality.. I honestly think that this recipe beats a majority of the stuff that is served at restaurants (low and high class).. The food tastes wonderful. It's not overly flavorful, though the flavors do compliment the steaks nicely. I made this dish with mashed potatoes for my mother as a surprise, and needless to say she was quite surprised. We were well fed for the evening. Thank you for a very wonderful meal and recipe. I will share this with friends and family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      OMG this was so good! The sauce was amazing...even though I overcooked my steaks a little (my fault) it didn't matter becuase the sauce is amazing. You can't go wrong with this recipe and it is super easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      Oh wow! This deserves wayyyy more than five stars. This is very, very good. I used ribeye steaks and a dry red wine. The dijon mustard adds something very special to the sauce. I will serve over egg noodles next time and double the sauce. Mmmmmm! On a side note, I have never ever been able to make a steak in the pan that turned out very well. The timing and cook method is PERFECT. Our ribeyes came out moist and slightly pink.. it was truly a perfect steak. Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      Barb this is so good!!! The flavors were incredible and the meat was SO tender. Followed your directions exactly and it was perfect. This was the first steak I've made on the stove that turned out good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I used normal field mushrooms cut into small pieces and doubled the sauce. Love the flavour of the Dijon throughout the dish. I served with whole baked potatoes in their jackets (skins) but think that buttered noodles would also be great especially with some of the sauce drizzled over the top. Thanks Barb for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      Delicious! Needs a more sophisticated name. DH loved this one. I served this with coleslaw and a tossed salad for a terrific low carb meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      this is the way i always make filet mignon, but these babies were so thick i had to cook them a few minutes longer per side. we liked the sauce, i am liberal with the sherry as it helps deglaze the pan. this was a special dish for my dd who is home from college for the holiday, she just loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-seared Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 503.8
     
    Calories from Fat 314
    62%
    Total Fat 34.9 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 186.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    filet mignon steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites