10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I knew that these would be a hit with DH, so I doubled the recipe. Unfortunately, I overcrowded the pan in doing so (too impatient to cook in 2 batches), so they didn't get as much sear as I would've liked, so I didn't bother taking a photo. Totally my fault, and the flavor was still great even if the appearance wasn't as nice as I'd hoped. I served these with Tippys Amazing Broiled Haddock and Butternut Squash W/ Wilted Spinach and Blue Cheese, and DH and I had a lovely seafood night. Thanks for posting! Made for PAC Fall '12

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess November 02, 2012

As a sub for searing flour, I used Wondra® Instant Flour Substitute with added salt & white pepper. Delectable and what comes to mind are four words, "Go forth and gorge!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 26, 2010

Excellent! Added salt, pepper and cayanne to the flour for seasoning. Only had smaller scallops so no oven step needed. Also added a splash of lemon juice for the last 2 minutes of cooking. My new go-to recipe for scallops. Used as an appetizer. Winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
globugf October 17, 2009

Wow! These were the best scallops I have ever made....Restaurant quality! I used Wondra flour too as some of the other reviews did and I was sorry I did not cook up more of them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc February 05, 2008

Delicious. We used fresh scallops ans served them as an appetizer. Delicious morsels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 January 31, 2014

I like the method as make scallops almost every week. I just thought I would try, but needed seasoning. Seriously lacked taste. the scallops wee good as I thoght but no taste. Salt, pepper, seasoning, something. The cooking method was right on, GREAT! But no flavor, sorry. I loved the method and very good. but needs taste to me. I'm sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook September 27, 2009

Very good scallops. I didn't follow the directions and kinda winged-it. I used regular AP flour, only added the oil and pan seared on the stovetop on Med-High. At the point when the oil was absorbed, I added some butter. Seared, turning every minute, for 4-5 minutes total. Had with a wonderful crabmeat sauce (#240184). Will be making more often. Thanks for posting hannahs dad!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat March 28, 2009

These turned out better than I imagined they would. I was looking for a good recipe after buying some really large scallops at the store. I liked the fact that there was no extra flavoring and the taste of the scallops stood on their own. Just wonderful. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnneHas2 January 04, 2008

The scallops were outstanding hannah's dad. My dh & I enjoyed them very much. They reminded my husband of scallops his grandfather use to make when he visited the east coast. They were nicely carmalized, tender sweet and melted in your mouth. Thank you so much for sharing. I will be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 01, 2007

This was so simple to prepare and yielded sweet, perfect scallops. I didn't need as much flour (I used Wondra) and also used a bit less oil and butter (I think--I just eyeballed the amount of oil).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 September 13, 2007
Pan Seared Sea Scallops