72 Reviews

This recipe is a keeper. Great pairing of flavors. I normally do not use breading, but this breading did not overpower the fresh flavor of the scallops and the result was light and crispy. I dipped the scallops into the lemon juice before breading after reading other reviews. I did use Panko crumbs which worked well. After removing the scallops from the pan, I added a little butter and about 1/2 cup of white wine along with pepper and just a bit of half and half for a delicious sauce. I ladled the sauce on top of angel hair pasta and added the hot scallops. I serve with a spinach salad. It is easy to over cook scallops so 1 1/2 minutes on each side is perfect.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyWMitchell January 16, 2010

O M G soooo delicious. I didn't have lemon so I skipped that, used Panko, garlic salt, onion powder, parmesan cheese, a bit of paprika. I made sure to dry the scallops off with paper towels really well first. Heated the evoo and butter in a cast iron pan. Threw the scallops in the panko mixture, and browned them. Yeah, the breading fell off a little, but sauteed it all together and it was crispy and AMAZING!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alikoizumi August 20, 2011

I wish I had read all the reviews first, then maybe I would have had more success with the crumbs sticking and not being so soggy/broiler trick. We liked the flavour and will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacstew March 13, 2011

Loved this recipe. I did add a little garlic to the olive old and butter before searing the scallops. I also added a little ground pepper and onion powder to the canned bread crumbs that I had in the house.

It was quick, easy and VERY tasty. I will be making these again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GHorne February 09, 2011

All of the taste, flavor, and texture of a finely seared scallop meal that doesn't weigh you down. All the flavors burst in your mouth. We did not cook it the same way, we just seared in the pan and then baked in the oven for a few minutes. Then switched to broil for one minute to allow cheese to fully melt on scallops.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poofy January 10, 2010

This was delicious! The only problem I had with it was that the crispy crumb coating got soggy once I squeezed the lemon over it. Once I figured out this problem, I started transferring them to the broiler after the squeezing....so it got to be a little involved. But, I will definitely make this again. DH loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. May makes dinner! June 17, 2009

Holy Moly was this good!! I followed Biz's instructions below and we had a meal fit for a king!!! I added garlic powder and crushed red peppers to my scallop crumbs. I then sautee'd about 6 cloves of garlic in a tiny bit of extra butter/oil...added 3/4 of low sodium chicken broth and about 4 tablespoons of 1/2 and 1/2. Served this over a pound of pasta and thought we'd died and gone to heaven!! Wonderful, spicy, light and tasty! A winning combo and a dish I will definitely make again!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl February 16, 2009

Excellent! Tried your way a few weeks ago with just one adjustment. I did not have any breadcrumbs, but I did have seasoned crutons (garlic and cheese flavored), so I got out the ole rolling pin and made my own bread crumbs.. boy oh boy the scallops browned so nicely and they were delicious. I can not wait to try it again! Thank you for sharing...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick May 30, 2007

Love it! Easy, quick and delicious. My whole family loved this and wished I had made more. Next time I will more than double the amount of scallops. So good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 06, 2015

Delicious and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davpenjas_5415444 December 24, 2014
Pan Seared Scallops