33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW!! The steaks were so moist! I used Tbones and my own variety of spices, but the cooking method was the key! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
G.I. Joe Girl March 16, 2010

Fantastic method!!! I used my stainless steel because I don't have any cast iron (yet) and it worked beautifully. Steaks came out tender and perfect. I added an extra minute to the oven time because we like ours just a tad more done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athenalove46 January 21, 2010

thanks sooooo much for posting this! I never would have thought to go looking for a how-to of his method of pan-searing (even after seeing it on t.v.). We had this for dinner tonight, replacing the salt with soy sauce, adding minced garlic and some dried herbs. I also deglazed the pan with about a tablespoon of butter and some white wine to make a reduction sauce. Served the steaks with sauteed zucchini w/ caramelized onions and baked sweet potato. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Celiac Cafe October 12, 2009

I have to tell you how empowered I felt making this steak! Usually, I leave grilling and steak preparation up to DH, but last night he got home very late from work. I made this recipe, which was very easy and low stress for me, and the result was a delicious, tender and juicy steak. In fact, usually we have to open quite a few windows when DH pan sears steak, but I had no problems with this recipe. I already copied this down for my keeper file and will make it again when I'm in charge of the steak. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 05, 2009

Just perfect.Steaks on the grill sometimes taste tough(at least ours!)and these were perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hera July 30, 2009

Loved it the first time!! Added a 1/4 tsp of ground fennel...superb and so easy. p.s might want to open a window or two but well worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottyr66 May 19, 2009

Wow!! I don't think I will ever go out to eat for a steak dinner again!!! Really good!!! I used a fillet of sirloin instead of rib eye. Had a really good flavor, juicy, and tender!! And cooking it was so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsbin January 31, 2009

I rate this 5 stars for the cooking method. I wasn't real excited about the smoked sweet paprika flavor so next time I will try a different steak rub. I added butter to the pan juices and make a little sauce to go with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon January 11, 2009

Alton Brown's process for pan-searing steak is the only way I cook steak indoors now. Once I tried this method, I was absolutely hooked--my steaks ALWAYS come out perfect. I do vary the seasonings, but always use Kosher salt and lots of fresh cracked pepper. It is truly the method that makes this recipe. Bravo, Alton, and thanks for sharing "What's cooking"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirley SP December 28, 2008

yes the searing instructions are an alton brown recipe, just the rub is slightly different. and it's written for a 1.5 inch thick steak just for reference. This is delicious, i love smoked paprika. Only suggestion is that i might use canola instead of olive oil, for one because 500 degrees is far above the smoke point of olive oil, and also because it's a strong taste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abadal18 December 26, 2008
Pan-Seared Rib Eye Steak With Smoked Paprika Rub