Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Seared Rib Eye Steak With Smoked Paprika Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Seared Rib Eye Steak With Smoked Paprika Rub

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2014

      Great.. Now my husband doesn't want to grill steaks anymore!;). So moist and tender, clearly I will be making these again( and again and again)... Great technique!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      i tried this recipe minus putting the skillet in the oven. i crispily seared the steaks and then just tuned the heat down to get a pink center. the oil and paprika impart a unique, non-us barbque smokey flavor on the beef. <br/>cooking on a gas range was easy and smelled great. <br/> i prepared the ribeyes with a herb-rice stuffed tomatoes, a spinach and feta cheese tossed salad, corn on the cob and bread dipped in o-oil. chased it down with some malbec. simple and tasty seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      I have cooked rib eyes this way several times. THE TASTIEST STEAK YOU MAY EVER EAT!!!!! It cooks fast, even, and your makes your taste buds explode as you are smelling it cook. Never had a problem with smoke. The only problem I ever had was waiting for it to finish. I am actually going to cook two of them tonight. YUM YUM!! Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      We loved this - even my "I hate steak" children wanted more. I was looking for a quick and easy rub and saw this - we love smoked paprika. We ended up modifying the technique as we grilled the steaks (New York Strips) - the cook times weren't too far off and hubby said this could be made often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Technique is perfect - would have been better if I didn't forget to turn the oven off with the dirty pan still in it. Got a bit smokey in the kitchen after that. Steak was amazing - will be how I cook steak indoors from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Didn't have the smoked paprika, so I used my own rub, but the cooking technique was great. DH liked the tenderness of the meat, I liked the ease of preparation and the fact that it truly came out the doneness that I wanted it to. Thanks chef for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      This was good but I think I'll stick with my regular spices I use. I would recommend everyone to give it a try though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Fantabulous method of cooking. Got all of my Cast Iron skillets out and had a ball. 1lb of Brussel Sprouts halved, tbls oil, salt pepper, tossed then in small skillet. Placed in first for about 10 mins before the steak. One Potato into fry slices, tossed with one tbls oil, in flat pan, in 10 mins before steak. Stirred Sprouts and fries upon occaision,,,, everyting out the same time. Sgood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Wow...this was terrific! I will never cook a rib-eye any other way! I had already seasoned the steaks, to I need to get the smoked paprika, but the cooking method was outstanding! We found 3 mins each side in the oven was closer to medium-rare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      WOW!! The steaks were so moist! I used Tbones and my own variety of spices, but the cooking method was the key! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Fantastic method!!! I used my stainless steel because I don't have any cast iron (yet) and it worked beautifully. Steaks came out tender and perfect. I added an extra minute to the oven time because we like ours just a tad more done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      thanks sooooo much for posting this! I never would have thought to go looking for a how-to of his method of pan-searing (even after seeing it on t.v.). We had this for dinner tonight, replacing the salt with soy sauce, adding minced garlic and some dried herbs. I also deglazed the pan with about a tablespoon of butter and some white wine to make a reduction sauce. Served the steaks with sauteed zucchini w/ caramelized onions and baked sweet potato. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I have to tell you how empowered I felt making this steak! Usually, I leave grilling and steak preparation up to DH, but last night he got home very late from work. I made this recipe, which was very easy and low stress for me, and the result was a delicious, tender and juicy steak. In fact, usually we have to open quite a few windows when DH pan sears steak, but I had no problems with this recipe. I already copied this down for my keeper file and will make it again when I'm in charge of the steak. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Just perfect.Steaks on the grill sometimes taste tough(at least ours!)and these were perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Loved it the first time!! Added a 1/4 tsp of ground fennel...superb and so easy. p.s might want to open a window or two but well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Wow!! I don't think I will ever go out to eat for a steak dinner again!!! Really good!!! I used a fillet of sirloin instead of rib eye. Had a really good flavor, juicy, and tender!! And cooking it was so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I rate this 5 stars for the cooking method. I wasn't real excited about the smoked sweet paprika flavor so next time I will try a different steak rub. I added butter to the pan juices and make a little sauce to go with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Alton Brown's process for pan-searing steak is the only way I cook steak indoors now. Once I tried this method, I was absolutely hooked--my steaks ALWAYS come out perfect. I do vary the seasonings, but always use Kosher salt and lots of fresh cracked pepper. It is truly the method that makes this recipe. Bravo, Alton, and thanks for sharing "What's cooking"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      yes the searing instructions are an alton brown recipe, just the rub is slightly different. and it's written for a 1.5 inch thick steak just for reference. This is delicious, i love smoked paprika. Only suggestion is that i might use canola instead of olive oil, for one because 500 degrees is far above the smoke point of olive oil, and also because it's a strong taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This recipe is unbelievably simple, and the steak came out fantastic! I opted for a little different spice set-up: fresh ground pepper, kosher salt (a MUST with steak), coriander, ground garlic, cumin, but regardless of what you like, the searing will create that excellent crust of flavor. :) Very good instructions on how to pan sear it like a pro. I found this much easier and more flavorful than grilling. Also, as of yet, I do not have a good cast iron skillet, but my regular old no-stick skillet did just fine. Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Seared Rib Eye Steak With Smoked Paprika Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (3 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 26.0
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    84%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 219.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless rib-eye steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes