40 Reviews

The only way to make a steak indoors. Be sure to use decently-thick steaks; thin ones will overcook before the crust forms.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon November 21, 2008

This was my first time cooking a steak and it worked for me! Not perfect but anything takes practice. My steaks were two different thickness but they were both good enough to eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francine88 March 11, 2014

This recipe interested me because of the use of cast iron cookware, which I love. That, and it's winter in Minnesota, so gas grilling, charcoal grilling is out and a broiler ruins good meat. Let me just say----dynamite! This will be my go-to method of steaks! I followed the easy to follow directions to a "T". Yes, there was some smoke, but my oven vent handled it. There was a lingering cooking odor but hey, steak smells good! They turned out lovely, with a nice "bark" and uniformly red interior.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grampy1939 December 25, 2012

Oh my goodness this was so good and simple. My only issue was I had to open up some doors or my smoke detectors would have gone off. Luckily, we had a great cross breeze going through the house so all remained calm. haha! Will make again. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Litl Irish Angel October 01, 2012

This is one of the best steaks I've ever cooked. I've made this several times and never posted a review--the only bad thing is this ALWAYS sets off my fire alarm! :)

Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsKNP January 02, 2011

A great way to a great steak! We use this recipe every time we cook steaks (any cut). We are never disappointed with the results. When we have a thinner steak to cook, we adjust the time so as to not overcook the meat. You can't go wrong with this method - it's a sure fire way to a great meal...and for very little effort. Plus, we think it tastes better than those cooked on the grill! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud May 23, 2010

This is a keeper for sure.. Thank you for posting..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandylou80 May 07, 2010

Great steak. After reading the other reviews, I cranked up my exhaust fan to top speed - and didn't have any smoke problems at all. Very good and very simple. I served Sour Cream & Horseradish Sauce on top of it for a wonderful dinner. Thanks cooking_geek for a nice keeper. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme February 07, 2010

This was so good and so easy. Like Tapout said - I used Pam spray rather than oil. I had very little smoke, easily controlled by the exhaust fan. I did cook 3 minutes on each side - we like our steak done. Even done, it was still very tender. Thanks for a great, easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea October 12, 2009

Being on rather tight budgets (aren't we all these days), we rarely get a treat as nice as a juicy rib-eye steak (the only steak I like). Since our local grocers had them on sale for $4.99 per lb., we decided to indulge ourselves with 4 nice 16oz. steaks. Turns out everyone but myself (medium rare for me) likes their steak cooked medium well. *cough* *gasp* *choke* I had no idea how to cook steaks that done and them still be tender so I came here and found your method. WORKED LIKE A CHARM! All 4 of us were completely happy with our steaks. :) At first I was a bit nervous about it since both in-laws are on oxygen and there were so many warnings about smoke. However, I put 2 fans in the kitchen with the window open to draw out the smoke and there was no problem. I put 2 small cans of mushrooms (juice included) in a pan with 1/2 package dry onion soup mix. I added about 1/2 cup blackberry wine and then cooked slowly until nearly all the juice was gone. After the steaks were done, I poured the juice from the steak pan onto the shrooms. Served on top of hot steaks. FANTASTIC! Thanks for the help! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonchild64 March 04, 2009
Pan Seared Rib Eye