Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan Seared Rib Eye Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan Seared Rib Eye

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2008

      The only way to make a steak indoors. Be sure to use decently-thick steaks; thin ones will overcook before the crust forms.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      This was my first time cooking a steak and it worked for me! Not perfect but anything takes practice. My steaks were two different thickness but they were both good enough to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      This recipe interested me because of the use of cast iron cookware, which I love. That, and it's winter in Minnesota, so gas grilling, charcoal grilling is out and a broiler ruins good meat. Let me just say----dynamite! This will be my go-to method of steaks! I followed the easy to follow directions to a "T". Yes, there was some smoke, but my oven vent handled it. There was a lingering cooking odor but hey, steak smells good! They turned out lovely, with a nice "bark" and uniformly red interior.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Oh my goodness this was so good and simple. My only issue was I had to open up some doors or my smoke detectors would have gone off. Luckily, we had a great cross breeze going through the house so all remained calm. haha! Will make again. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This is one of the best steaks I've ever cooked. I've made this several times and never posted a review--the only bad thing is this ALWAYS sets off my fire alarm! :)

      Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      A great way to a great steak! We use this recipe every time we cook steaks (any cut). We are never disappointed with the results. When we have a thinner steak to cook, we adjust the time so as to not overcook the meat. You can't go wrong with this method - it's a sure fire way to a great meal...and for very little effort. Plus, we think it tastes better than those cooked on the grill! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      This is a keeper for sure.. Thank you for posting..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Great steak. After reading the other reviews, I cranked up my exhaust fan to top speed - and didn't have any smoke problems at all. Very good and very simple. I served Sour Cream & Horseradish Sauce on top of it for a wonderful dinner. Thanks cooking_geek for a nice keeper. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This was so good and so easy. Like Tapout said - I used Pam spray rather than oil. I had very little smoke, easily controlled by the exhaust fan. I did cook 3 minutes on each side - we like our steak done. Even done, it was still very tender. Thanks for a great, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Being on rather tight budgets (aren't we all these days), we rarely get a treat as nice as a juicy rib-eye steak (the only steak I like). Since our local grocers had them on sale for $4.99 per lb., we decided to indulge ourselves with 4 nice 16oz. steaks. Turns out everyone but myself (medium rare for me) likes their steak cooked medium well. *cough* *gasp* *choke* I had no idea how to cook steaks that done and them still be tender so I came here and found your method. WORKED LIKE A CHARM! All 4 of us were completely happy with our steaks. :) At first I was a bit nervous about it since both in-laws are on oxygen and there were so many warnings about smoke. However, I put 2 fans in the kitchen with the window open to draw out the smoke and there was no problem. I put 2 small cans of mushrooms (juice included) in a pan with 1/2 package dry onion soup mix. I added about 1/2 cup blackberry wine and then cooked slowly until nearly all the juice was gone. After the steaks were done, I poured the juice from the steak pan onto the shrooms. Served on top of hot steaks. FANTASTIC! Thanks for the help! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is a great way to cook steaks I have been doing it for a while...the only thing I would suggest (after setting the fire alarm off many times) is use pam cooking spray instead of oil! The oil burns and thats where the smoke comes from. I use Pam all the time with this method and have atelast 80% less smoke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This technique was good. I used 1/2 inch rib eye steaks and cooked till no pink appeared inside (about 3 min. on each side in oven). DH and I like them this way. They were juicy and tasty and I added garlic powder on the last turn. I usually make them under the broiler. The only difference I see is that you get the sear marks on this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This was very good. We had to put the steaks in longer though as they were still VERY rare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

    • on November 22, 2007

      very good. I like more seasoning but the steaks came out nice and tender(very juicy). I look forward to trying this again with more spice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Really good, the only concern I have is when I made it again I had thicker rib eyes and they didnt cook properly. So cooks beware to cook according to thickness. Other then that, NICE, SIMPLE and good to eat. My guests loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I always cook steak this way ever since I saw Alton Brown do it on the Food Network. Guaranteed perfection every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Terrific cooking technique when grilling isn't possible. My steaks were not 1 1/2 inches thick, so I really should have reduced the cook time time to maybe 1 minute and 45 seconds per side because the inside was more gray than pink. The smoke wasn't a huge problem so that was a definate plus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Made rib eye this way last weekend for the first time ... tenderest steak I've ever cooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I've made this many times. I use beef tenderloin and my men just can't get enough! No smoke problems here. Fast easy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan Seared Rib Eye

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rib eye steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes