28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! Tasty and easy to make. I used only about 2 tsp olive oil in the sauce, poured it over the fish and covered pan for the last few minutes of cooking. Made a nice, smooth saucy fish as the pesto mixed with the small amount of fish oils in the fry pan. Will definitely make this one again!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EppiRN July 09, 2011

Great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirthaguer June 15, 2011

I liked the ease of prep and healthy ingredients. I chose to try this because I had everything I needed to make this recipe without shopping for anything additional; I had some leftover basil from the farmer's market and parmesan cheese from another recipe. I don't eat dairy, so I mixed all the sauce ingredients but the cheese and split it into two bowls, adding 1 tbsp. parmesan to my husband's half. I also put a little of the sauce atop the fish before flipping it on the other side so it wouldn't stick too much to the skillet. Based on the other reviews, I would like to try baking it next time and adding a little cooking wine. Also I omitted the salt from the fish (putting 1/2 tsp. just in the sauce) and I thought it needed a little more salt when I tasted the finished entree so I sprinkled a little salt from the shaker to taste. That may have been however because I have a cold and my nose is stopped up, so I probably am not the best judge of flavors at the moment!

I had to cook the hubby's fish a little longer...2 1/2 minutes more each side to cook all the way through. The fish was a little rubbery, but good. We had 1.20 lb, so that may have been because it was a little thick. I used the spatula to press it flat against the skillet (since it was curling) so it was cooked all the way through.

I'd try this recipe again with some modifications. Also I will definitely add some fresh lemon next time. I think that would make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Atkins December 22, 2010

The sauce was awesome. Nice and light. I baked the cod and instead of pan-searing it. I made a little bit of cheesy rice to go with it. Perfect, quick, easy, light meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cmei June 30, 2010

Didn't think this was spectacular but certainly not bad. I'm a big fan of pesto but for some reason this just didn't really work for me. The sauce didn't seem to work with the fish and it all ended up being quite bland. Maybe my expectations were too high due to all the rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJ_Ohio September 23, 2009

This dish was out of this world! Made this tonight with halibut and followed everything as stated. AMAZING! My husband always wants to flour fish before pan searing and I talked him out of it on this one and he LOVED it! This doesn't need a thing else. Sheer perfection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 18, 2009

Ok, this is now on of my top three fish recipes of all time, and I have tried many. I was skeptical about the sauce not being cooked, but I turned out great. I will most definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing this delicious, and healthy way to enjoy fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp July 16, 2009

I did this sauce with grilled salmon and it was delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LynnG #2 June 22, 2009

This was really good. My basil is growing like crazy and I'm trying to find more ways to use it up. I didn't really measure the basil and my husband said it was overpowering the fish. I enjoyed it and thought it was perfect so it might just be his taste buds. Next time I will measure. I just wanted to use up the entire part that I had cut off the basil plant. Oh, I baked the fish at 400 for 20 minutes. I also deviated from the recipe and used a milk wash and dipped the fish into flour with a little paprika before baking. The sauce is what this recipe is all about and it's wonderful. Let each person add how much they want on top of their fish though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone May 22, 2009

We made this for dinner tonight and loved it! I though the pesto sauce had great, fresh flavor. It reminded me of summer. I used regular chicken broth (not reduced sodium), so I didnt salt the fish. That seemed to work out fine. Next time, I might use regular chicken broth and cut the salt to 1/4 tsp in the pesto. I served with a side of spaghetti squash with butter and parmesan. This is a nice dish that I will definitely make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 01, 2009
Pan-seared Cod With Basil Sauce