Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-seared Cod With Basil Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-seared Cod With Basil Sauce

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2009

      I followed the recipe dutifully but it somehow lacked the kick I was looking for... that is until I added some white wine to the chicken stock, and even some cognac which made a huge difference! It tasted alot more complex and had more depth in its taste. I had also rubbed the cod fish with salt, pepper and old bays seasoning for added taste prior to baking them in the oven at 180 deg celsius for abt 20 min or so. Kept them warm at 100 deg celsius until my guests were ready for the main dish! Turned out fab!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Wow sooooo good! My husband and I loved this recipe! The only change I made was to baste the fish in a couple tbsp of butter and olive oil toward the end of the cooking time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Light, healthy, and wonderfully flavorful for being so quick and easy to prepare. Who can argue with a combination like that? I made everything as per the recipe. Was a little doubtful about the sauce, but as soon as I tasted it I thought, "Wow, I made *this*?". (I'm not exactly Top Chef material.) It really transformed plain old cod into something special. This is a dish I would feel confident putting on the menu when entertaining. It paired wonderfully with a very moderately priced Sauvignon Blanc.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2014

      Excellent recipe. Easy, flavorful and great way to jazz up cod. I know it will be seen a lot on the table during basil growing season. I did add a few swipes of the micrograter of lemon zest. My Mom said to let everybody know it was so good she didn't even use the tartar sauce she had pulled out. I served this with a garden salad and potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Excellent! I used Costco's premodern pesto and it was terrific. If you do, don't add too much garlic or cheese. Will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Easy and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      Feeding a teenager and fussy eater wife, gotta keep it simple. My family loves pesto, and this low fat recipe made cod into a perfectly delicious treat that everyone loved. This recipe just joined our list of regular entres.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      a great recipe! My only problem was with cooking time. 3 minutes a side is more than enough, I had 1" thick cod filets. I seasoned with salt, pepper, and a wee bit of Old bay seasoning. I used basil from my garden, maybe a little too strong so cheated and used basil pesto sauce. PerfectI highly recommend checking temperature of filets with a device: my favorite is a "Thermopen". stop cooking at 135 degrees. Also, don't put filets in pan until it is hot. enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This was a nice delicate topping for fish. I did rub the fish with Old Bay seasoning as suggested, used garlic flavored EVOO and used the 50/50 with white wine and chicken broth as suggested. I will make this again with the fish but I really want to try the sauce on chicken. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      IMO, baked in the oven is going to be the preferred way to go here as pan fried would make more of a mess with the cheese BUT, the pan sear with baking to temp would also be fine . In theory, baked parmesan goes very well with baked whitefish. I would say, it depends on the whitefish here, the higher the quality, fresher and less aftertaste it has, the more it will be a canvas for the 'pesto'. I would also watch the amount of liquids being put into the pan when finalizing the basil/cheese topping. I used a food processor to finely chop the basil. Look at all the photos to see the finalized product as the recipe poster intended to appear. I'm going to have to try this one again some once or twice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Excellent! Tasty and easy to make. I used only about 2 tsp olive oil in the sauce, poured it over the fish and covered pan for the last few minutes of cooking. Made a nice, smooth saucy fish as the pesto mixed with the small amount of fish oils in the fry pan. Will definitely make this one again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I liked the ease of prep and healthy ingredients. I chose to try this because I had everything I needed to make this recipe without shopping for anything additional; I had some leftover basil from the farmer's market and parmesan cheese from another recipe. I don't eat dairy, so I mixed all the sauce ingredients but the cheese and split it into two bowls, adding 1 tbsp. parmesan to my husband's half. I also put a little of the sauce atop the fish before flipping it on the other side so it wouldn't stick too much to the skillet. Based on the other reviews, I would like to try baking it next time and adding a little cooking wine. Also I omitted the salt from the fish (putting 1/2 tsp. just in the sauce) and I thought it needed a little more salt when I tasted the finished entree so I sprinkled a little salt from the shaker to taste. That may have been however because I have a cold and my nose is stopped up, so I probably am not the best judge of flavors at the moment!

      I had to cook the hubby's fish a little longer...2 1/2 minutes more each side to cook all the way through. The fish was a little rubbery, but good. We had 1.20 lb, so that may have been because it was a little thick. I used the spatula to press it flat against the skillet (since it was curling) so it was cooked all the way through.

      I'd try this recipe again with some modifications. Also I will definitely add some fresh lemon next time. I think that would make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      The sauce was awesome. Nice and light. I baked the cod and instead of pan-searing it. I made a little bit of cheesy rice to go with it. Perfect, quick, easy, light meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Didn't think this was spectacular but certainly not bad. I'm a big fan of pesto but for some reason this just didn't really work for me. The sauce didn't seem to work with the fish and it all ended up being quite bland. Maybe my expectations were too high due to all the rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      This dish was out of this world! Made this tonight with halibut and followed everything as stated. AMAZING! My husband always wants to flour fish before pan searing and I talked him out of it on this one and he LOVED it! This doesn't need a thing else. Sheer perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Ok, this is now on of my top three fish recipes of all time, and I have tried many. I was skeptical about the sauce not being cooked, but I turned out great. I will most definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing this delicious, and healthy way to enjoy fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I did this sauce with grilled salmon and it was delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was really good. My basil is growing like crazy and I'm trying to find more ways to use it up. I didn't really measure the basil and my husband said it was overpowering the fish. I enjoyed it and thought it was perfect so it might just be his taste buds. Next time I will measure. I just wanted to use up the entire part that I had cut off the basil plant. Oh, I baked the fish at 400 for 20 minutes. I also deviated from the recipe and used a milk wash and dipped the fish into flour with a little paprika before baking. The sauce is what this recipe is all about and it's wonderful. Let each person add how much they want on top of their fish though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      We made this for dinner tonight and loved it! I though the pesto sauce had great, fresh flavor. It reminded me of summer. I used regular chicken broth (not reduced sodium), so I didnt salt the fish. That seemed to work out fine. Next time, I might use regular chicken broth and cut the salt to 1/4 tsp in the pesto. I served with a side of spaghetti squash with butter and parmesan. This is a nice dish that I will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-seared Cod With Basil Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.7
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    29%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 426.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 31.9 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes