17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you very much for sharing this dish. I only had BASA fish handy and I was in a rush so this looked like something that was worth the try. MY OH MY! What a surprise, the dish came out just perfect!!! Will definitely make it again in the very near future. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ada S July 22, 2010

This was a huge hit with my family! What was particularly impressive was how fast it was to make. I used fresh Monchong fillets and a can of cut tomatoes, and skipped the butter. Because there was a lot of liquid, I let it finish cooking in the pan with the lid off and it came out great, with less mess to clean up. The additional sauce and feta were delicious over the orzo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mangomom January 08, 2010

Exceptional pairing of flavors and the aroma was marvelous while cooking (no fishy smell for those who resist cooking fish at home). I have two minor recommendations. First the recipe does not provide the temperature used for sautéing and this would have helped my husband who prepared this dish. Second, a suggestion in purchasing the fish to avoid under or overcooking: if possible buy the fillets in similar size and thickness. Again, not something all chefs think about when purchasing. Thanks for adding to our fish meals repertoire!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MACADOO October 20, 2009

Delicious!!! You know it's good when my picky teenagers are fighting for the last morsel!!! I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjager June 13, 2009

I don't know what to say about this recipe, except that I feel bad even rating it because I am giving it the same 5 stars I have given other recipes and it is on a totally different plane of goodness, like I-can't-believe-I-made-this-it-tastes-like-it-came-from-a-five-star-restaurant-goodness! I did sub a small can of tomato sauce for the fresh tomatoes because my ridiculous husband refuses to eat tomatoes. (He also loved this dish!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation December 17, 2008

Wonderful recipe that my daughter prepared for a family get together! Like her recommendations, I reduced the evo and butter, and increased the garlic. My cooking time in the oven was about 10 minutes. This recipe is just super!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homegourmet November 25, 2008

I made this recipe, for the first time, this past weekend for a charity dinner party. It was absolutely delicious and everyone loved it! I even got requests for the recipe! I used fresh oregano instead of dried. I served it over orzo (with fresh spinach, mushrooms & pinenuts) and Greek style string beans. This recipe was not difficult to make and looks just beautiful when you take it out of the oven. I can't wait to make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueZ122 January 28, 2008

Fantastic dish, so easy and quick to make, and the flavours are fab. I made this for a friend coming round for dinner and will be making this again soon. I used fresh tomatoes rather than canned but may try with canned next time to make it more saucey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lornesausage March 29, 2013

Wonderful recipe with delicous flavours! It would probably be a 5 but I did have some trouble with the cooking time. I did put it in the oven for 14 minutes but the middle of the fish could have been cooked more (which is very hard to check with all the sauce). I wasn't sure from the way the recipe was written whether the toppings were to be heated / cooked in the pan prior to transferring to the oven. If I were to do this again, I think I would try cooking the topping separately, straining and then putting on top of the fish when served to keep it from being less soupy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanljohnston April 15, 2009

I halfed the recipe and didn't use the extra butter. No need for it. Instead of bass, I used swordfish instead and it was a great dinner. I love it. Thank you for posting this recipe since it is so difficult to find a good fish recipe that I like. Keeper file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB November 05, 2008
Pan Sautéed Chilean Sea Bass