63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Deeee-licious! I too had to increase all cooking times by 10 minutes. I also added mushrooms which was a perfect addition and used fresh rosemary (1 1/2 tsp) rather than dried. One suggestion though - if you place the spinach over the chicken mixture and roast until it wilts, you end up with one big gob of spinach which is difficult to separate. Next time, I'll stir the spinach into the chicken mixture. And there WILL be a next time . . . loved this dish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssisandy July 20, 2011

Good recipe.. it leaves a lot of "wiggle" room to personalize it, which I like. Doubled the recipe and added mushrooms (which the BF likes), marinated the chicken thighs as per the other reviewers in olive oil and lemon juice (then balsamic too, which the BF added). Used fresh rosemary since I didn't have dried, seared the chicken in a pan before adding (to cut my baking time), and loved the end result! Thank you Marie, for a great dinner staple!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sicxemxbears April 10, 2010

If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would! This was outstanding...a perfect blend of roasted potatoes, chicken, garlic, rosemary, salt pepper, and onions! I was amazed at how fast this came together, and the high oven temp roasted the veggies perfectly! The spinach was a delightful touch, healthy and perfect with the other ingrediants. My husband and I kept saying, between bites, this is scrumptions, delicious, delightful, yummy...we both agree that we will make this often, especially for guests, because it is sure to please, and it would be so easy to make, while entertaining. Thanks, Marie, for one of those recipes that is meant to be a staple in the home of everyone who tastes it! EDIT: In perfecting this recipe, I have found that it is a MUST to double all of the spices (except for the salt, to which I add only an additional 1/4 tsp). I also double the olive oil to 4 Tbs, at the start of the roasting of the veggies, and then I add another 2 Tbs, when I add the chicken. Finally, I always toss the raw chicken with some olive oil, lemon juice, and a little minced garlic, and refridgerate for at least one hour before cooking, which helps to protect against over-drying, when cooking at the high oven temp. The beautiful result of these changes is a much more flavorful and moist final product. I loved this recipe to begin with, but theses changes have created an even more lucsious dish! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helping Hands February 16, 2009

Smells great cooking. It's actually in my oven right now. I'm not crazy about the cooking method. Everything is sticking to the pan. I used olive oil as directed. Added some more. Then, sprayed with Pam. Still, everything seems to be sticking and burning. Sounds like a great recipe. I just can't keep it from burning. I will try glass dish next time. Roasting pan means an actual roasting pan... UPDATE: I did use a glass dish and it worked perfectly. A roasting pan is completely different than a glass casserole dish! Be careful about that! My hubby loves the potatoes in this mixture so I use extra potatoes. It tastes great and we've had it several times already. Thanks for a great recipe. Just be careful about that roasting pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the-lil-monkey September 16, 2008

This was a great throw together, pop in the oven, one dish meal. I used 30 minute Lemon Pepper marinade as I didn't have the fresh lemon some people mentioned. I've made this twice and the 2nd time I did add mushrooms and zucchini as some posters suggested. I would NOT do that again as I feel it made the dish too "wet" and it lost the "roastedness" that makes this dish delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy G. June 26, 2008

This has become a go to recipe for our family. It's always delicious. We've used chicken breast and added green beans without having to modify anything. This is usually what we prepare for families that have just had a baby. Good protein and veg and dairy free for nursing mothers trying to avoid dairy. I found the recipe through Pinterest. My best pin so far!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McKeeHouse April 03, 2015

Really delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 29, 2014

Very good and very simple. I used a whole chicken cut up and put everything in at once. I accidentally did 425 degrees instead of 475, but I cooked it all for about 50-55 min and it was great. I didn't use the spinach.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gina Calina December 23, 2014

I cooked the carrots 10 mins earlier than the potatoes, then added the onion and garlic. Finally the chicken and then the spinach. Had garlic bread with it. Fantastic!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill October 17, 2014

This was easy and delicious! I used a bag of baby carrots and small red spuds. I had my doubts about the spinach but ended up loving it. I will make this again and again. As other chefs have stated, this recipe has many possible options. Thanks, Marie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully March 11, 2014
Pan Roasted Chicken and Veggies