187 Reviews

This method really gives the broccoli a great nutty flavor. Well loved by us all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom June 14, 2012

We enjoyed broccoli cooked this way so much. It was crisp -tender and it really did have a roasted flavor. I added a little onion to the pan and cooked it for a few minutes before putting in the broccoli. My son, who rarely makes any comments about vegetables I make said this was the best broccoli ever. I asked him why and he said "it wasn't all mushy with no flavor like most broccoli." It got a thumbs-up from everyone in the house -- thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester May 03, 2012

I made this with spicy Chili oil and a few minced garlic cloves. My man ate most of his which is quite a big deal. I can't normally get him to even think about eating cooked broccoli. It's has earned these five stars for that alone. Plus I thought it was a super flavorful way to keep broccoli healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Gwen April 06, 2012

The next best thing to real oven roast broccoli! I loved how quickly, easy, and healthy this is as well as it taste really great. I made as written. As we love broccoli and I do not always want to heat the oven this is an outstanding alterative that will be made often. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 06, 2012

This was good, but I still prefer oven roasted broccoli. However, this was easier and didn't make my kitchen extremely hot like turning on the oven does when it's warm out. I replaced 2 TBS of the water with lemon juice - it was pretty lemony at first but the lemon flavor mellowed a lot after the leftovers were refrigerated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee April 03, 2012

This was such a unique way to make broccoli. Followed the recipe exactly but it didn't brown. It more softened. It may be my non-stick pan though because I kept it in a bit longer and it still didn't turn color. The seasoning didn't seem strong enough for us so next time I will put in more. It was delicious anyway though. It was a nice, light accompaniment to chicken and potatoes. We enjoyed it. Thanks for posting Roxygirl. We will make this again. Enjoy! ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH April 02, 2012

Thanks for posting such a great and easy technique to steaming veggies. We have never been veggie eaters but we're learning to really enjoy them eating them this way :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parkers Mom February 28, 2012

tasty. I used frozen broccoli--just got tired of steaming it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em February 23, 2012

Not much I can add to 161 4-5 star reviews. :) I buy broccoli florets in big bags at Costco (we eat it a lot) and it doesn't have much in the way of stems, so next time I will buy a stalk at the grocery store and slice bigger pieces of stem. I think this would be good with some red bell pepper strips also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here January 22, 2012

Great recipe and easy to make! I just bought a head of broccoli at the grocery and used that. Worked wonderfully! I have always been a picky eater and never a fan of broccoli but my husband and I gobbled this up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 January 16, 2012
Pan-Roasted Broccoli