184 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The technique is what makes this recipe. Follow the directions exactly and you will be amazed at the result (nutty flavor almost). It is fabulous. Adding water changes the integrity of the vegetable, and adding other seasonings will have you missing out on the subtle flavors that the salt and oil bring out. Go on, try it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunncarter March 26, 2012

I wouln't rate this 5 stars but we liked it well enough to repeat, I replaced the water with white wine and used garlic pepper. I also added rerigerated minced garlic and next time will add a twist from the red pepper grinder. I did have to add a little extra water since when I added the liquid prior to covering, it was almost gone when I put the lid on. The timing instructions were good for our preferences, but I think that would depend a little on the size of the florets. I was looking for a fairly light recipe without a lot of fat, and this recipe did work for that,

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef February 05, 2011

Love love love this recipe! We're not even big broccoli fans but we now have broccoli once/week. I add garlic and onion with the broccoli and then use salt and regular pepper. So good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gone to disneyland August 21, 2010

Mmmmm, I love this recipe. It was so easy and the taste is a whole new experiance in broccoli. I added a teaspoon of crumbled bacon at the end and it threw this over the top. I made this when DGSs and friend was here to serve with recipe#3811687 and there wasn't a crumb left. Made for Eating Right in the Photo Forum

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 07, 2010

I followed the recipe exactly and it is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candidmom January 17, 2015

Thanks for a great recipe. I made this for dinner and had the compliment of wow this doesn't taste at all like Broccoli. That's a win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler August 03, 2014

Excellent side dish and a nice change from plain boiled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy P. May 07, 2014

I made this for lunch today, and it was loved by all. I added about 1 TB of soy sauce, a little garlic powder, and some lemon pepper seasoning. I love how quick this was. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. April 11, 2014

Very delicious! I've roasted broccoli in the oven before, and this has a similar flavor, but I liked this better. Next time I may add some garlic to roast as others suggested. Thank you for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking February 21, 2014

So simple, yet a perfect way to cook broccoli! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough January 19, 2014
Pan-Roasted Broccoli