187 Reviews

The technique is what makes this recipe. Follow the directions exactly and you will be amazed at the result (nutty flavor almost). It is fabulous. Adding water changes the integrity of the vegetable, and adding other seasonings will have you missing out on the subtle flavors that the salt and oil bring out. Go on, try it.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunncarter March 26, 2012

I wouln't rate this 5 stars but we liked it well enough to repeat, I replaced the water with white wine and used garlic pepper. I also added rerigerated minced garlic and next time will add a twist from the red pepper grinder. I did have to add a little extra water since when I added the liquid prior to covering, it was almost gone when I put the lid on. The timing instructions were good for our preferences, but I think that would depend a little on the size of the florets. I was looking for a fairly light recipe without a lot of fat, and this recipe did work for that,

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef February 05, 2011

Love love love this recipe! We're not even big broccoli fans but we now have broccoli once/week. I add garlic and onion with the broccoli and then use salt and regular pepper. So good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gone to disneyland August 21, 2010

Mmmmm, I love this recipe. It was so easy and the taste is a whole new experiance in broccoli. I added a teaspoon of crumbled bacon at the end and it threw this over the top. I made this when DGSs and friend was here to serve with recipe#3811687 and there wasn't a crumb left. Made for Eating Right in the Photo Forum

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 07, 2010

Thanks Roxy... I added Brussel sprouts cut in half. YUMMY THANKS AGAIN. ��

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pedro M. August 20, 2016

Not that this NEEDS another review, but what the hell. I made this last night, and it was awesome. My only deviations: I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I mixed in some garlic powder into the water/seasoning mixture. Soooooooooooo good. I like my broccoli to be more on the crunchy (?) side rather than mushy, so I didn't cook them much longer after the two minutes under the lid. They were bright green and pretty, and it was SUPER tasty. Next time, I might try adding some onions or garlic. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Tomato August 06, 2015

A keeper. Easy and flavorful. Makes a great side dish. As other reviewers suggested, I added a minced garlic clove (just before adding the spiced water). Thanks for sharing such a wonderful method of making broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpmazur June 21, 2015

I followed the recipe exactly and it is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candidmom January 16, 2015

Thanks for a great recipe. I made this for dinner and had the compliment of wow this doesn't taste at all like Broccoli. That's a win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler August 03, 2014

Excellent side dish and a nice change from plain boiled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy P. May 06, 2014
Pan-Roasted Broccoli