Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!)

    Average Rating:

    218 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 218

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2011

      Ok, I was taught this recipe in culinary school while studying baking and pastry art. In a professional kitchen you would be hard pressed to find PAM type sprays. This stuff works better, is cheaper and won't hurt your pans. The brown goo from the sprays is actually the propellant that they use. A dark pan gets hotter, faster and can dramatically alter the results of you baking to the point of causing burnt bottoms and undercooked middles. I have never heard of the cocoa substitution, but it makes sense and I can't wait to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I have to agree, this is way better than Pam! This does not leave that icky brown gunk on the unused part of the pan or cookie sheet like some of the sprays do and it definitely releases with ease. I make this all the time and keep it stored in the fridge in a container then scoop out some to thaw (soften) while I an mixing up my batter. I then brush on the softened mixture to my pans, voila! Works great every time. Thanks so much sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      In recommending this to someone I realized that I never rated this... so very sorry! This is amazing stuff, I absolutely love it! Very easy to put together, really thrifty and works great. I use a silicone pastry brush to apply and it spreads very easily for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I made up two batches of this today. First, I made one as written. Then I realized that I was making Brownie Bites so I made up another batch using cocoa powder instead of flour. It worked beautifully on my mini muffin pans. No more PAM for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Love IT! Have been using this recipe for nearly 20 YEARS. I use 1 T measurements and it's always plenty, even for 2 half sheet cake pans. FYI: Remember that all cakes will stick if left in the pan too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I've noticed that every review these days rates 5 stars, even if you hated the recipe. Please know that this is worth 5 all the way! Last week, I made a recipe for crustless quiche cooked in a mini-muffin pan. It tasted great, but I had to dig the stuff out and it all crumbled. But then I remembered this 'recipe' of Kitten's that I'd been meaning to try. Made the quiche/muffins again, and every single one came out beautifully. As in 'whole'. Isn't Kittencal amazing??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      This works so well! Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I just whipped up a batch with flour and a batch with cocoa powder. Super easy and it works. I made a German chocolate cake and when it came out of the oven, it was separated from the edges of the pan perfectly! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This passed my hardest test, I have some really old mini muffin pans than usually only Pam allows the food to release with. I ran out of Pam so I tried this and was dreading it just assuming it wouldn't work. Well to my surprise it is wonderful. Not one muffin was ruined and I am super happy. I will use this always.Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      So easy to make and works like a charm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Worked great. I have a bundt pan with deep groves which were hard to get the mixture in. I cut the natural basteing brush bristles to one inch. It made them stiff so it pushed the mixture in every nook ane crany. My cake came out...like never before. Thankyou.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      This stuff is AMAZING! I have been baking in all my "less than favorite" pans just to find one that it didn't work in and guess what....it had worked in ALL of them! Even the Nordicware fancy bundt pans..yep the cakes just slide right out! Love it! Thanks Kittencal! I love love love this stuff! Sometimes I make it with butter flavored Crisco and I love it that way too! UPDATE: This is so perfect in my Pampered Chef Stoneware! I always had a problem with the bundt pan...well cuz frankly I am too impatient and turned the pan over too quickly...not a problem now..the cake just falls right out! I LOVE this stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I have been using this for over a year, and haven't missed store-bought sprays at all. I used sunflower oil and coconut oil. I use it for everything from cakes and brownies to casseroles. I don't think I can or will ever use a spray again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      I thought I already rated this, but I didn't! Been using it for several years now and let me tell you, when my lemon bars came out without a hitch, I was sold! I double the recipe and keep it in a sealed glass jar....lasts forever and works every time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      It did the job, my muffins came out fine - but they do the same with the professional pan spray I get at the business Costco, which is faster then brushing this on. I want to try this on my cast iron cornstick pan -if the cornbread comes out clean - it will get a 5th star. Made for ALL YOU CAN COOK BUFFET - SPECIAL EVENT! Tag

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Unfortunately I didn't care for this. It was the grainy consistency of the mixture
      that I was put off by. It's too difficult to explain really. So sorry just not a good recipe "fit" for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Another great review here...it's really pretty amazing how it whips up, just like you said it would! I like having this around as I never buy anything spray. Thanks Kittcencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Not impressed. I made a batch of macaroons and used this on my pan as macaroons are notorious for sticking to baking sheets and even parchment. Did not work well. Cookies stuck just the same as if you used a spray or a piece of parchment. Will try again with another recipe and then will "star" it . Update: I have since used this to grease bread pans, square pans and pans for cooking casseroles and other meals. I have found that it just does not work as well as the commercial spray. When I made bread, I had to run a knife along the loaf to release it from the pan, NEVER happens when I use spray. I prepared a batch of lemon bars for my daughter and used this recipe to grease the pan, and the squares stuck to the pan all along the edges, what a mess. I managed to salvage a nice plateful for her anyhow. Had to do a lot of cutting though. It really does not work well with baking, perhaps better for meals. Sorry, just being honest, but thankyou for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I'm not going to rate this because I figure nearly 130 people can't be wrong. But I wanted to say that I used this on a cookie sheet. I now have a cookie sheet that is a mess and it's going to take me forever to get it cleaned up. Where there wasn't food, this stuff is stuck on there worse than glue. Don't know if I didn't stir it enough first or what but thought I should warn others of this possibility.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!)

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1398.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1272
    91%
    Total Fat 141.4 g
    217%
    Saturated Fat 29.1 g
    145%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes