222 Reviews

Ok, I was taught this recipe in culinary school while studying baking and pastry art. In a professional kitchen you would be hard pressed to find PAM type sprays. This stuff works better, is cheaper and won't hurt your pans. The brown goo from the sprays is actually the propellant that they use. A dark pan gets hotter, faster and can dramatically alter the results of you baking to the point of causing burnt bottoms and undercooked middles. I have never heard of the cocoa substitution, but it makes sense and I can't wait to try it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly Keller October 11, 2011

I have to agree, this is way better than Pam! This does not leave that icky brown gunk on the unused part of the pan or cookie sheet like some of the sprays do and it definitely releases with ease. I make this all the time and keep it stored in the fridge in a container then scoop out some to thaw (soften) while I an mixing up my batter. I then brush on the softened mixture to my pans, voila! Works great every time. Thanks so much sharing!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. January 04, 2010

In recommending this to someone I realized that I never rated this... so very sorry! This is amazing stuff, I absolutely love it! Very easy to put together, really thrifty and works great. I use a silicone pastry brush to apply and it spreads very easily for me.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morningfeather March 13, 2011

I made up two batches of this today. First, I made one as written. Then I realized that I was making Brownie Bites so I made up another batch using cocoa powder instead of flour. It worked beautifully on my mini muffin pans. No more PAM for me.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Maria #2 June 20, 2010

Love IT! Have been using this recipe for nearly 20 YEARS. I use 1 T measurements and it's always plenty, even for 2 half sheet cake pans. FYI: Remember that all cakes will stick if left in the pan too long.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lidz February 14, 2011

I've noticed that every review these days rates 5 stars, even if you hated the recipe. Please know that this is worth 5 all the way! Last week, I made a recipe for crustless quiche cooked in a mini-muffin pan. It tasted great, but I had to dig the stuff out and it all crumbled. But then I remembered this 'recipe' of Kitten's that I'd been meaning to try. Made the quiche/muffins again, and every single one came out beautifully. As in 'whole'. Isn't Kittencal amazing??

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton September 13, 2010

This works so well! Thanks Kitten.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coral_Jayne July 15, 2010

I just whipped up a batch with flour and a batch with cocoa powder. Super easy and it works. I made a German chocolate cake and when it came out of the oven, it was separated from the edges of the pan perfectly! Love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin January 09, 2010

This passed my hardest test, I have some really old mini muffin pans than usually only Pam allows the food to release with. I ran out of Pam so I tried this and was dreading it just assuming it wouldn't work. Well to my surprise it is wonderful. Not one muffin was ruined and I am super happy. I will use this always.Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jln's mom September 10, 2013

So easy to make and works like a charm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie September 10, 2013
Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!)