85 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these twice now. Once as written and then deglazed with 1/4 cup white wine, 1 cup chicken broth, a little butter, and lemon juice...just okay. The second time we used Montreal steak seasoning (as a few others suggested), deglazed with maybe 1/8 cup whte wine, 1/3 of a lemon (squeezed juice), 2 tblsp butter, scraped the bottom of the pan really well and added a small container of sliced mushrooms and maybe 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Cooked for about 5 minutes then mixed in a couple tblsp water with1.5 tsp cornstarch (to thicken) and served over chops. We liked this way much better! Very quick and easy recipe--also very versitile! YUM!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewlmaker March 05, 2013

I was in a bind tonight looking for a way to cook pork chops on the stove top (since my oven was occupied) that wouldn't turn out dry like cardboard. That is what usually happens when I cook on top with pork. I found it in this recipe and I'll be using this method again and again.

This couldn't be simpler! The pork chops were perfect and moist! I wish I had some mushrooms on hand because I think that would have been even better with the sauce.

I did use different seasonings, but it was the cooking method itself that lended to a beautiful moist pork chop. Thanks Nan!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jencathen July 15, 2012

These turned out amazing! I was generous with the salt and pepper and extra generous with the thyme. The only difference with the recipe is that at the end of the cooking process (the last minute before I took them off the burner), I squeezed a wedge of lemon over the chops. To make the sauce, I added a green onion to the pan and mushrooms and let it cook till the mushrooms were browning and about done, then I added a bit of broth and let that simmer for a few minutes. Served with steamed green beans. Truly delicious! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sallymee April 27, 2010

PanNan..thanks for a delicious supper! After letting the chops rest, I had quite a bit of liquid in the pan which I poured off. Then I took your suggestion and deglazed the pan with a splash of white wine and some beef broth..then added a little onion and fresh mushroom sauteed in butter to make a wonderful sauce. Husband loved this and I will make again many times.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda B February 06, 2004

Thanks, DH just loved this and it was so easy! I used pork cube steak which can be a little tricky, but this way turned out just great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens August 08, 2014

Followed directions exactly. Used beautiful 1"+ thick boneless pork chops. Cooked for 4 min each side and 8 minutes covered. Came out tough and dry. Very disappointed. Ruined some beautiful pork.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bvgott_1941813 January 31, 2014

This receipe made me want to cook with pork again! Simple and delicious. My only complaint is the same one I have about most pork dishes - too much salt for me. I deglazed the pan with wine as suggested, that sauce was yummy. Plated this dish with a sweet corn casserole. The salty and sweet together went together really well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LallyCM October 22, 2010

Very good! I will use different seasonings next time, but I like the method--my half-inch thick pork chops were nice and moist. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant September 07, 2010

Oh my goodness, these were so good! I was running a little late on dinner tonight, and needed a yummy and quick way to cook up some pork chops. I followed the advice of one other poster and deglazed the pan with some fresh squeezed lemon juice, and I didn't have dried thyme, so I used fresh. I'll definitely be making these again in the near future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HSMOM24 June 24, 2010

These were delicious. The most tender pork chops we've ever eaten! I used Old Bay instead of thyme.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kteacherlaura March 28, 2010
Pan Grilled Pork Chops