Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan Grilled Chicken with Avocado and Red Onion Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan Grilled Chicken with Avocado and Red Onion Salsa

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2003

      Lorac, I really liked the flavor combinations in this dish. I used red cabbage and the presentation was so colorful. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I really loved this recipe ! I agree with another person's comment about wishing the chicken itself was more flavorful, but I just compensate by making extra "salsa" so you can have a nice big bite of salsa with each bite of chicken. My boyfriend said this tasted like something you'd get in a really good restaurant, and I agree ! YUM ! (UPDATE: I figured out how to make the chicken more flavorful without changing the recipe at all...I just cook the chicken at a lower temp so it doesn't dry out as much, and also I save a small amount of the marinade from the chicken to pour onto the chicken about a minute or two before it's finished cooking. That adds a nice garlicky "glaze" that makes it taste SO much better. I'm sure it adds fat too, but who cares...it tastes GREAT !)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This was so wonderful. Highly recommend serving over cabbage (actually I used a cole slaw blend with shredded carrots - even more color) for the crunch, and garnishing with plenty of fresh lime to squeeze over it. Next time I will double the avocado salsa. I also put some fresh lime zest in the salsa. The riot of colors on the plate combined with all the textures and bursting flavors make this a stunningly pretty and delicious dish. Bravo and YES to this again & again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      AWESOME!!! I went on other reviewers' comments about the bland chicken and cubed it up like spiedies to marinate for 24 hours. Then we grilled the chicken on skewers and served it on a bed of lettuce with the avocado salsa on top. AWESOME!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I was amazed by how quickly this dish came together. I spent next to no time in the kitchen, and my reward was a very flavorful and enjoyable meal that seemed like it ought to have taken me hours! My poor husband got stuck with onion chopping duty and it may take his eyes some time to recover, but it was worth it for both of us. Thanks so much for a great idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      The chicken was very good but even better when topped with the avocado salsa..yum! The recipe was easy to prepare and easy to get great results. I love the idea of slicing the chicken and putting it all into tortillas! I'll try that next time for a variation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      This was a huge hit in my house! Pretty easy to put together and it looked great on the plate! I did allow the chicken to marinate for a few hours as I saw some reviews saying chicken needed more flavor. Think next time I will do the same but I think I will grill the chicken. Will make again for sure! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      Delicious! I added a little garlic and mayo to the salsa and made it more of a guacamole. I also topped the chicken with cheddar cheese 'cause I'm an addict :-D I thought the chicken was plenty flavorful but then I marinated it in the marinade for several hours. I pan seared it then put it in the oven to finish cooking. It'll be great on the grill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Yum. This was easy to make. Next time I would use smaller breasts or flatten them a little so they will cook faster and maybe more flavorful. The salsa was delicious without the cilantro (did not have any) and I might make extra next time. I would reduce the amount of oil used in the salsa as I did find it a tad heavy (avocado is pretty rich on it's own). High praise from hubby who says it's good enough to serve to guest. Easy and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

    • on June 30, 2009

      The chicken was wonderful and the salsa would have been great...without the coriander. We tried to pick the coriander out but ended up throwing the whole salsa out. Either way, we'll probably make this again. It was nice, easy and good, just want to advice against the coriander flavor to those of you with picky tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Yummy! I wish the chicken itself was more flavorful. But I am a sucker for avocado, red onion and lime juice & salt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

    • on May 16, 2007

      I make this all the time- it is so easy and tastes sooooo good! I even VOLUNTEERED to make this for a family gathering of 20-30 people. it is that good. the left over salsa makes great dip. thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      WOW!!! We loved this. I increased the amount of lime juice i used a little bit, and increased the amount of red peppers a lot (we love spicy food), and left out the coriander. We ended up serving it in tortillas, which really added to the dish. In the end, it was kind of like a fish taco made with chicken. All in all, it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      WOO HOOO!!!! We LOVED this one!! My kid did too!! I think I may have messed it up but everyone still enjoyed it. I followed exact except, I could not find coriander. So that was not in our dish. This was a nice healthy meal. It went great with our sweet corn on the cobb. We also had some whole grain bread (toasted) with a light drizzle of olive oil, and garlic (pinch of salt). I think next time I would like to try some cilantro, tomato and maybe a jalapeno. This was a great dish THANK YOU!! It tasted like something you would get at a nice restaurant for lunch. VERY PLEASED!! WILL MAKE AGAIN, AND AGAIN!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Very good. Loved the flavor combination! Thanks for a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Excellent. I added some roma tomatoes, because I had to use them up. Made a very healthful meal. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Excellent recipe! I did grill on our charcoal grill instead of pan grilling. We loved the added smokey flavor from the grill. The salsa is perfect with a great bite of lime. I prepared this one week for Hubby and I, and when visiting family the following weekend, Hubby requested that I make it again for dinner with them. It was a hit both times. Great meal with little fuss! We served it with Cumin Rice With Avocado and a tossed salad. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      I made this for dinner last night after seeing Newspapergal's photo of it, and I'm so glad I did! Not only was it absolutely scrumptious, it was super easy to make and it turned out to be a perfect meal for the entire family; including a fourteen-month-old, a finicky four-year-old, and my DH who low carbs it. I will definately make this again! Thanks Lorac, for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan Grilled Chicken with Avocado and Red Onion Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 579.1
     
    Calories from Fat 417
    72%
    Total Fat 46.3 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 96.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 102.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes