28 Reviews

Lorac, I really liked the flavor combinations in this dish. I used red cabbage and the presentation was so colorful. Thanks for posting!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook March 29, 2003

I really loved this recipe ! I agree with another person's comment about wishing the chicken itself was more flavorful, but I just compensate by making extra "salsa" so you can have a nice big bite of salsa with each bite of chicken. My boyfriend said this tasted like something you'd get in a really good restaurant, and I agree ! YUM ! (UPDATE: I figured out how to make the chicken more flavorful without changing the recipe at all...I just cook the chicken at a lower temp so it doesn't dry out as much, and also I save a small amount of the marinade from the chicken to pour onto the chicken about a minute or two before it's finished cooking. That adds a nice garlicky "glaze" that makes it taste SO much better. I'm sure it adds fat too, but who cares...it tastes GREAT !)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Beth May 05, 2009

This was so wonderful. Highly recommend serving over cabbage (actually I used a cole slaw blend with shredded carrots - even more color) for the crunch, and garnishing with plenty of fresh lime to squeeze over it. Next time I will double the avocado salsa. I also put some fresh lime zest in the salsa. The riot of colors on the plate combined with all the textures and bursting flavors make this a stunningly pretty and delicious dish. Bravo and YES to this again & again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr February 05, 2009

AWESOME!!! I went on other reviewers' comments about the bland chicken and cubed it up like spiedies to marinate for 24 hours. Then we grilled the chicken on skewers and served it on a bed of lettuce with the avocado salsa on top. AWESOME!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cause4chubbyhubby October 23, 2008

I was amazed by how quickly this dish came together. I spent next to no time in the kitchen, and my reward was a very flavorful and enjoyable meal that seemed like it ought to have taken me hours! My poor husband got stuck with onion chopping duty and it may take his eyes some time to recover, but it was worth it for both of us. Thanks so much for a great idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenofeats August 14, 2007

The chicken was very good but even better when topped with the avocado salsa..yum! The recipe was easy to prepare and easy to get great results. I love the idea of slicing the chicken and putting it all into tortillas! I'll try that next time for a variation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood June 05, 2007

This is "A Keeper"! DH loved it. (me too) Delicious and easy to make. I made it exactly per the recipe. I used Chicken Tenders and they were tender and juicy. I might increase the red pepper flakes in the future. We don't mind spicy Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal February 07, 2016

This was so limey and delicious. It was the best chicken I've eaten in a while although my husband did not use all the cardamom the recipe called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemino1990 January 08, 2015

This was a huge hit in my house! Pretty easy to put together and it looked great on the plate! I did allow the chicken to marinate for a few hours as I saw some reviews saying chicken needed more flavor. Think next time I will do the same but I think I will grill the chicken. Will make again for sure! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
violetsareblue February 26, 2014

Delicious! I added a little garlic and mayo to the salsa and made it more of a guacamole. I also topped the chicken with cheddar cheese 'cause I'm an addict :-D I thought the chicken was plenty flavorful but then I marinated it in the marinade for several hours. I pan seared it then put it in the oven to finish cooking. It'll be great on the grill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot April 19, 2012
Pan Grilled Chicken with Avocado and Red Onion Salsa