14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so basic, so simple, and so good! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 10, 2002

This was great. We put some spices in the cornmeal (garlic, paprika, seasoned salt, and Italian blend) and that was tasty. Squeezed some lemon on the fish while it was cooking. Thank you so much, this is the first time I have cooked trout.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker October 22, 2005

Very good recipe! Loved it! I seasoned the trout with salt, pepper and garlic powder first before coating in cornmeal. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever October 01, 2005

The cooking times are right on. I like nothing but salt and pepper on the lovely brook trout we catch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thingswelove December 18, 2014

Simple easy, if only filleting the fish was as easy :) loved the note about taking a bah of cornmeal and some butter on fishing trips I'm sure we will keep that in our back pocket for our boys as they get a little older. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m September 18, 2013

So easy and delicious, especially when served with homemade tartar sauce! I also add the seasonings mentioned by other reviewers. I rarely try another recipe to pan fry walleye -- this one is perfect for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stir crazy November 12, 2010

My 20 year old son caught himself a few nice trout the other day and wanted me to cook them for him. Instead, I went to Recipezaar and found a recipe I thought he would like that he could master himself. He did great. The trout were wonderful and now he can probably manage cooking them himself over a campfire with this easy, straightforward recipe. They were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W July 02, 2007

mmm Memories of the cabin at the lake! Almost as good as they were there fried in a cast iron frypan on the wood stove, YUM! The only way to cook fresh trout, simple and delicious! thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 06, 2007

Excellent! Very tasty and incredibly easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Jew March 26, 2007

Yummeee! No need to say any more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. February 12, 2007
Pan Fried Trout