Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2007

      This was great. The tofu was a really nice texture when it was done. The peanut sauce was also really nice but I might experiment with it a little next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      We loved it! The tofu was so crispy on the outside and soft in the inside. The cornstarch trick really kept it nice and crispy. The texture was a little like chicken nuggets actually. The peanut sauce was very good as well. Very nice as an appy or snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      I will definately make this again. The fried tofu was great! For some reason though, I didn't think the sauce had much flavor. Next time I will try this with full fat peanut butter as opposed to the healthy kind I used. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I didn't make the sauce. The tofu was outstanding! I cooked it over medium-ish until it was golden. Fantastic! Not burned like the last time I tried to make fried tofu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      My husband I tried to make this and had no luck a all. We followed the directions exactly. The sauce was so terrible we had an almost instand gag reflex. I don't know if I will be able to eat tofu or peanut butter for a very long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Great recipe, I really wanted to make a "brown sauce" that just about all chinese or oriental restaurants (take-out) have. I stumbled upon this recipe and boy am I glad I found it. Might not be the brown sauce, but spicy peanut sauce was GRWAT! (impossible to find "brown sauce", this will have to due. Due to cross contamination, I miss out on chinese which I so badly miss :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      This was light and delicious! The sauce did end up a little thicker than I would prefer so I just added a little more milk until it matched the consistencty I wanted to go along with rice. Also I steamed some spinach and when the sauce was done I threw the tofu and veggies together with the sauce and pan-fried it for an additional minute. Turned out great! Served it with white rice. Thank you for posting WaterMelon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      The two kids who loved this dish enjoyed it immensely so I will try making this again using the other optional ingredients... soy sauce instead of oyster sauce, and maybe milk instead of coconut milk. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

    • on December 14, 2006

      I have been a vegetarian for awhile and I've admittedly grown tired of tofu. This recipe has made me a believer all over again! It is simple and the texture is amazing. The cornstarch, people. is key. Instead of salt and pepper i used seasoning in the cornstarch. I didn't try the peanut sauce so I can't comment on that. i will try next time though. Try this recipe folks, you can't go wrong. p.s-the carnivore in my house LOVED it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      The texture of the tofu was spot-on, and really made the dish. It was easy to make and would be easy to adapt as well. I think using peanut or sesame oil would improve the taste (we only had generic vegetable oil).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Good snack to whip together. We always have these ingredients on hand, so it makes it easy. I used veggie oil, but next time will use peanut oil. The sauce is really great (I used oyster sauce and chili sauce with extra chili flakes) and makes the perfect amount to lightly drizzle the tofu with without smothering it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe...delicious flavor and great use for tofu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      I cooked this as part of a larger "banquet" style meal and so made quadruple the amount of sauce - this still wasnt a huge amount i would recommend doubling the amount of sauce even if you are doing this just for yourself. As for the tofu i didn't really like it, as strange as it sounds its texture was too "meaty" for me but i ate the leftovers for lunch the next day when they had softened a little and they were very very good! When i rolled my tofu in the cornflour i also added a sprinkle of crushed chillies to the coating mix. I have only given four stars as if i had not made the sauce in advance and was making it for a meal about to be served i would have realised it wasnt enough and been in the kitchen making more while my food went uneated (or eaten by someone else!)It would have been nice to know how much sauce the recipe made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      The sauce is really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This was an excellent appetizer/side dish. Crispy and delicious! I personally don't like cornmeal, so I used mochiko (Japanese rice flour) to coat the tofu instead. I added a little ground coriander to the peanut sauce as well. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

    • on February 15, 2005

      DH and I enjoyed this for dinner accompanied by sweet potatoes (#15918) and asparagus spears baked in a bit of lemon juice -- a great meal! Good way to prepare tofu and we love the sauce! I'll make tofu like this more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      This was great, WaterMelon!! I expanded the recipe because I had much more tofu, used about half the peanutbutter, coconut milk and soy milk, lemon juice, 1 garlic clove, soy sauce and chili sauce --- it was SO good!! The tofu fried up quickly and was nice and soft inside. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      This was one of three tofu recipes I tried. This was the best one. The sauce is similar to a peanut satay one that goes over chicken skewers at a local Thai restaurant that my husband and I love. My husband said he did not want any tofu (he thinks it is gross) but I gave him a bite off of my plate. He went right to the kitchen and made a plate for himself and commented that this is good tofu! I used crunchy PB as stated in the recipe amounts, no adjustments and it was not too peanutty as mentioned in another review. I used Laura scudders Natural Crunchy PB(the kind w/the oil layer on top. I pour off the oil. I also used Hot chili sauce (not ketchup), the kind you see on the table at fast food chinese restaraunts. Thank you Watermelon, I look forward to trying your other recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.8
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    44%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 349.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites