Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2009

      Good recipe. You have to eat it pretty quick or it will get soggy. I like it better with the peanut satay sauce you get in the small cans in the vietnamese markets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I did not like the peanut sauce for this recipe at all - I ended up scrapping it and making a version I already knew. I was expecting the tofu to end up a little more saucy, but the cornstarch absorbed all the sauce so the dish was quite dry. I would recommend making a lot more sauce than the recipe calls for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      great flavor, very easy to prepare. i agree with other reviewers who mentioned just sort of using this as a guideline ... when i made it i used eye-ball amounts of peanut butter, milk, 2 garlic cloves, thai style red pepper sauce & a teeny bit of soy sauce. i let it simmer for a few minutes and at the end, added it over top of the fried tofu, along with some green scallions. the sauce thickened up considerably because of the cornstarch, and it was really quite good. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I agree that the cornstarch method is great...but it is great in a sauce such as the general tso's tofu recipe that is found on this site. The plain tofu was just an overwhelming tofu-ey taste that I could not handle. And while I typically love peanut sauce...this was just not the right combination- the peanut sauce that I love is made with Peanut butter, water, white wine vinegar, Molasses and soy sauce...it's delicious...this is not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I added garlic powder, salt and pepper to the cornstarch to add a little flavor before tossing the tofu. I also added about a Tbsp. of sesame oil to the pan while frying. I love it and can't wait to make it again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Very tasty. I had a hard time getting the bronze color just right but after a few practice pieces they looked great. I enjoyed them with a side of sweet chili sauce as well as peanut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Rating just the sauce, which I used with recipe 20445 for Vietnamese Spring Rolls which were AMAZING. The sauce is fabulous. Easy and very authentic. Thanks for sharing--now I'll have to try that tofu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I haven't even made all of this yet, but based on just the sauce, I can't wait for dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Fantastic! I made it for my vegetarian Mom and she loved it. I didnt have ketchup so I used tomato paste (only thing on hand) and I used creamy peanut butter. I added the lime juice because I used coconut milk. We will definitely be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      We loved this! The sauce is inspired. I used natural peanut butter (without added sugar) so I needed to add honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Real good taste. Pay attention to the corn starch... only a little bit. Otherwise you are going to end up with a gigantic tofu blob.I learned this the hard way the first time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I love tofu, but my husband is a bit picky about texture. He loved this and asked for seconds and thirds. Peanut sauce was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      I just made the peanut sauce and I can't believe how easy it was and tastes like a restaurant recipe!! Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      As this is my first fried tofu (ever!), I can't compare it to another, but it is DELICIOUS! The texture is not what I expected...crispy outside and soft/creamy inside. I used another Peanut Sauce recipe (which was a first for me as well), but it was basically the same as this one. Bottom line...TOFU CONVERT HERE! I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      What a delightful snack! I loved the peanuty sauce with this. I made it with skim milk, but I would like to try it with coconut milk and a little bit of lime juice. Thanks Watermelon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      After all the rave reviews I really wanted to like this but... This was so gross. I'm not sure what on earth went wrong, but my tofu did NOT look like the photo. I kept going back to the recipe to be sure cornSTARCH was really what I was supposed to use. The sauce wasn't that great either, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

    • on July 28, 2008

      This was delicious, and much easier than I expected. I was not able to get the cornstarch evenly distributed over the pieces, but that was operator error, I'm sure. The peanut sauce was delicious, but I made the chili-less version to please my family of small children. I added garlic-chili paste to just my own serving of sauce. I ended up tossing the tofu with a sauteed eggplant dish that I also made, and they combined beautifully. Thanks, WaterMelon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Wow, sooo yummy! My first time cooking tofu, and eating it besides hot & sour soup, and I couldn't have been more pleased! Great cruchy outside, creamy inside thing happening. I think the dipping sauce would be enough for a whole 400g package of tofu. Also, to any other first-timers, be careful that the tofu is drained enough, and that it doesn't get stuck together in the pan. But try this recipe for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      My husband and I loved this recipe! I used creamy peanut butter since I didn't have any crunchy, and it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.8
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    44%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 349.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes