Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2010

      WOW! I made this tonight because I had a craving for Thai food and didn't want to go out. The sauce is delish and the tofu was light and delicate and wonderful. I made extra sauce to use in Chicken Satay w/noddles later this week. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Holy wow. my first experience with tofu that *I* cooked, and it is FANTASTIC. kudos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I marinaded the tofu in the sauce (minus the peanut butter) overnight before coating in flour (not cornstarch), frying, and then pouring another batch of sauce over it before serving. Too spicy for my liking, but very good all the same. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I can't believe it took me this long (and so many failed attempts) to learn the secret behind cooking crispy tofu. Thank you. I made a different sauce (combo of peanut butter, a little hot water, soy sauce, brown sugar and grated ginger), so I can't comment on the sauce, but the tofu turned out great. I used medium-firm as that's all I had on hand, and was worried it would fall apart, but it didn't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I made the peanut sauce. It was good, easy, super quick and I had all the ingred. on hand. I'd make this again but I'm still on my quest for the best sauce ever. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      I pressed the tofu to remove extra liquid, then marinated it for a couple of days in this: Asian Style Savory Baked Tofu. Then I followed this recipe. The tofu could have been crispier, but that was probably a failure of technique (I don't think my oil was hot enough, and half the tofu sat on the plate waiting to be cooked, so the cornstarch got soggy). The sauce was quite tasty, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I simplified the recipe; cooked the coated tofu in toasted sesame oil and dipped in sweet & spicy chili sause with some hot mustard on the side. Very easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I love the texture of the tofu! The sauce was very rich, I also recommend using as a dipping sauce. Delicious! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      The sauce was peanut (which I like), but way too salty for my palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Awesome and easy! I kind of smothered the tofu in the sauce thought and it seemed there was a bit too much. I recommend the side dish for diipping like the pics!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      tofu was good...but I really didn't like the peanut sauce...I'm really picky with its taste and I hated the aftertaste to it...I don't know if it was too tangy or something? But yeah, I had to throw it out, it sort of made me want to gag. =( so sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I thought this was alright. I used unsweetened peanut butter, light coconut milk, fresh garlic, and chili sauce. I think mine needed to be sweetened a bit. Thanks for posting, always looking for fast new tofu recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

    • on August 22, 2009

    • on August 06, 2009

      Fabulous peanut sauce! We had this meal two nights in a row because we loved the fried tofu and sauce A LOT. Fried tofu is definitely something we'll be coming back to again and again. We used soy milk, smooth peanut butter, soy sauce, and chili sauce (not siracha paste-like, more sauce-y with pepper flakes). The sauce was smooth and a really nice contrast to the light crispiness of the fried tofu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I love this! It's quick easy and like stated in the recipe, you can make the sauce the way you like. I like it spicy, so I added more chili sauce but I cut back on the garlic powder. Can't wait to make it again at our next potluck! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      great dipping sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I haven't made tofu very much, but really liked the crisp outside. The peanut sauce was very good also. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      This was very tasty... I used firm tofu, and cut it into small bite sized pieces... the tofu disintergrated a little in the frying process, so next time I'll use extra firm tofu and cut the pieces bigger. Loved the taste thou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      YUM!! I doubled the sauce like some reviewers suggested. And, I went ahead and put the sauce on the tofu to serve instead of on the side. Even my meat-loving husband liked these. I will definitely make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.8
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    44%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 349.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes