Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      This is by far my favorite way to eat tofu - it's SUPER EASY to make, SUPER YUMMY - and seriously addicting!!! The tofu turns out so light & crispy. Even my husband who doesn't really like tofu loves this and we always fight over the last piece. I always use x-tra firm tofu and drain it for 30 mins before frying by placing it b/w 2 plates weighted by a cast-iron pan. Then I fry it in a little peanut oil. It always turns out perfect. We have made the peanut sauce in every combination possible and we love it best with chunky peanut butter, fresh minced garlic, soy sauce, coconut milk, 1/2 tbsp. chili sauce, and the juice from 1/2 a lime which makes is more Thai-like. We love spicy food, but found we didn't need the chili flakes - it was spicy enough with the chili sauce. This is a favorite appetizer/light meal in our house that we feel good about eating!!! Thanks WaterMelon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This was very tasty! I made a whole meal out of it. After I finished fying the tofu, I sauteed broccoli, red peppers and green onions using the same oil. When the veggies were done, I put the tofu back into the pan. I TRIPPLED the peanut sauce, and when that finished cooking I poured it over the tofu/veggie mixture. We ate the mixture over steamed rice. My DH loved it. We will definitely be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      I loved this recipe! I tweaked the sauce a bit by adding some rice vinegar. I served this with soba noodles and spinach. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      I really loved this. Lately, I've been frying tofu because I love the crunchy shell and creamy interior. I haven't used cornstarch as a base, but that's the ticket. Golden, crunchy in less time than just frying. The sauce was great, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      DH was so sure he wasn't going to like this....ha ha. He loved it. The tofu gets nice and crispy on the edges and soft and creamy in the center. The sauce to dip into was equally delicious. He couldn't get enough and neither could I. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      so i approached the tofu with my usual circumspection, hemmed and hawed before deciding to try this, and am i pleased i did! i loved the peanut flavor and didn't find it overtly prominent like some of the reviewers did. i went with the coconut milk/soy sauce/ketchup option - drizzled with lime as you suggested. this sauce (along with the cornstarch) really did the trick for the dubious tofu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Super easy. Make sure to fry the tofu well in just a little oil. I then remove extra oil and pour the warm sauce over it. Was lovely with a carrot salad with lemony dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      This is super easy but I think it depends on the kind of butter. Mine rendered the sauce which looked like a paste so I kept adding milk, soya sauce, garlic powder and chilli flakes, much more than in the recipe. The final result is quite good, next time I will tweak it more and experiment with it more. That is why I am giving it only 3 stars. Definitely worth keeping though because it's easy and you'd normally have those ingredients at home, at least in my home...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I'll admit I was a bit hesitant, but intrigued when I first saw this recipe. Spicy peanut sauce? It just didn't make sense to me when I was reading the recipe and making it. Then I tried it, and I must say it was awesome. The sauce definitely gave the tofu a good flavor and I'll be making this again soon. Firming the tofu was extremely easy with a press I got from TofuXpress. I recommend it to anyone who has trouble draining tofu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      Soooo yummy! I used coconut milk, DELICIOUS... and i like it hot so I added a little cayenne too because I love it. Thank you!! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      I made the peanut sauce to pour over chicken. It was alright but I honestly did not enjoy it very much. The flavor was a bit off and did not taste quite right...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      This dish is great! I added a little too many red pepper flakes but I'm trying again this weekend for friends. Great little appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

    • on August 17, 2010

      I was ready to give the fried tofu five stars and the peanut sauce only one. I like my peanut sauce sweet & spicy and I was adding tons of coconut milk and sweetener to try to get it to my liking. But as I was clearing my mess in the kitchen, I tasted to the coconut milk and discovered that Lite Coconut Milk is not only light in fat and calories but light in taste. It hardly tastes like coconut milk at all. So I'm sure that when I make this again, and I definitely will, I'll make it with full fat coconut milk and hope that it actually has the right flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      So I only made the sauce, it was a dipping sauce for a fondue party, and it was perfect. I used 1/2 ketchup and 1/2 chili sauce, and it was spicy enough for the spice lovers and not too spicy for everyone else. Didnt have any chili flakes, and used Lactaid 2%. Delicious. Can't wait to try making the tofu with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was really good! Will be making again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

    • on May 13, 2010

      The best best best!!! The peanut sauce is also versatile because you can use it on a fresh garden salad instead of using salad dressing....Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I have to admit, I didn't make the tofu part, I just made the sauce, however this has to be the BEST sauce I've ever had. It's beats any restaurant or bottled sauce even. And so easy. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      WOW! I made this tonight because I had a craving for Thai food and didn't want to go out. The sauce is delish and the tofu was light and delicate and wonderful. I made extra sauce to use in Chicken Satay w/noddles later this week. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.8
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    44%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 349.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites