32 Reviews

This is great! I purchased 6 - yes, 6 - pounds of Tilapia filets without ever having tasted it. We got it yesterday, so today I made a couple for lunch using your recipe. Delicious! And you're right - quick and easy. I'm not a fan of anything that resembles tartar sauce, so I had mine "as is" with a sprinkling of salt and pepper. I'm planning on making this for my Kiddo for lunch tomorrow - she's gonna love it. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP March 14, 2003

The fish made a delicious and super quick dinner for DH and me. After getting into the recipe it was discovered that I didn't have cornmeal. I did have polenta which worked beautifully after being whirled around in the coffee grinder. The fish was cooked in a cast iron skillet and came out very crisp, flaky and nicely seasoned. This was served with DH's tarter sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG December 30, 2008

Absolutely fantastic! The fish was crispy, and we enjoyed the taste of the Old Bay seasoning. I cooked them three minutes each side and they came out perfectly. The tartar sauce was great as well. I can't wait to have these again -- they go into my "permanent" file. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester November 24, 2008

Absolutely wonderful! I made 2 butterflied croakers, about a pound and a half of fresh fish, and this was the perfect amount of cornmeal coating. I was worried about overheating the olive oil so I used Crisco. The flavor is just right for a mild fish. I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crisci March 04, 2016

Quick, easy, delicious. What's not to love about this dish?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdunkeld September 23, 2011

Delish! I would cut he seasoning/cornmeal in half next time. I also substituted the olive oil with canola since olive oil can't handle high heat at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VerucaSalt October 18, 2009

We like tilapia very much but we did not like this recipe. The breading was far too dry and the flavor didn't go with the fish at all. We ended up throwing it away and eating other leftovers instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lois Ellen September 18, 2009

A nice, old-fashioned tasting fish recipe. I was disappointed in how much leftover coating mix there was. It was wasteful. My suggestion is to cut the cornmeal and Old Bay seasoning mix by half. The Miracle Whip, sweet pickle relish and lemon side was good. It tasted somewhat like tartar sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 13, 2009

This is the best fresh fish I've ever eaten :D 2 thumbs up & 5-stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DarksLight May 15, 2009

5-stars 2 thumbs-up

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
markheuss February 26, 2009
Pan Fried Tilapia