Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Fried Onion Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Fried Onion Dip

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2008

      I liked this a lot, but would change a couple things based on friends "reviews". Next time, I will cut the mayo used by half, and I would use 2 tbs of oil (at the most) to cook the onions. I like the idea of adding crumbled bacon, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This dip makes me swoon!!! I have made it countless times for countless events (I am a personal chef and caterer) and people are literally LICKING the bowl clean with this stuff! I also don't use any of the oil called for in the recipe, there is enough fat in it as stated. Also, once in a pinch, I used up some leftover mascarpone in place of the cream cheese and it was good, although I had to add a little extra salt. If you want to kick the onion flavor up a little more, some onion powder really does the trick - but it doesn't really need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This is a winner. Have made several times - even the die hard "I don't like onions" love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on October 22, 2008

      Great dip! I served it with tortilla chips, not crackers/veggies. I had some left over and had it the next day on a hot sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This is a household favorite and a smashing success at parties. I serve mine with pita chips, various crackers and veggies. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I make this dip all the time and it is a huge favorite. The first time I made it, everyone found it "too mayonnaisey." I have since been cutting the mayonnaise in half and now we run out of it at every event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      WOW!!! This is great! I took it to a family picnic and everyone loved it. I saved some at home so we could have it later. We decided to use it on our burgers, in place of mayo, it was great for that also. Easy to make. I did drain off most of the oil the onions were cooked in, but saved that fragrant oil to cook something else in it later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Yumilicious! This is my favorite dip in the entire world. And I have tried a lotta dip in my time. One tip is to drain the excess oil after you cook the onions. Otherwise the dip will be runny. Best served with a thick cut rippled potato chip. One time I sauteed a couple of slices of bacon with the onions. I only did it once. It was too delicious if that is even possible, so only the once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      I used low fat mayo and low fat cream cheese, and this was still really great...there was a little too much cayenne for me but my fiance thought it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Flavorful, RICH and perfect. I only needed to use one onion, as ours were jinormous (one onion produced well over 3 cups, once sliced!) Thanks for sharing- this will be the only onion dip we ever make again! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      My daughter made this for our Super Bowl party and brought it to our house. I have to tell you it was great! Loved the flavors. We had the dip with tortilla scoops and it was greatly enjoyed by all! We will be making it often in the future for parties. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Thanks for the recipe Kimke. I love anything that Ina prepares. I made a couple of substitutions. I used canola oil instead of the vegetable oil (personal preference)and light sour cream and Neufechtel cheese (1/3 calories of cream cheese) but I made sure I used a good quality full flavor mayo. All that I can say is this dish should be at every gathering. And did I mention that itwas easy to prepare? Kepp up the good work, Kimke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Creamy smooth and like others have said, tastier the 2nd day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Fantastic ! I have made this twice now. Definitely better the next day so make in advance. Also serve at room temperature. This is such a big hit! Thanks Contessa !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Just read all the reviews and wanted to add a comment. This dip is by far best a day after it is made. The flavors have a chance to blend together and mature. It is also easiest to serve at room temperature. I think this would also make a fantastic base for tuna salad, or as a spread for any sandwich on which you would use mayo and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was really good and was a hit with my guests. I did not find it greasy at all, and it was very easy to put together. I too diced my onions but stayed true to the rest of the recipe. Creamy with a slight kick from the cayenne. I resisted the urge to add garlic, but think I will next time. And there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Yum! Nice mellow, round flavor from the caramelized onions and yes, this isn't as tart and tangy as the classic soup mix dip, but this is the next level, a completely different dip and I'll never go back, that is for sure! OK, don't quote me on that, but this is wonderful and definitely going into my repetoire. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      So, this was a very interesting recipe for my family. Personally, I could never imagine going back to the "Powdered Onion Dip" recipes, however my guests (who tend to like stand-by comfort foods) were not overly impressed. For a crowd who likes 'food with flair', I think this is a fantastic choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      I guess I'm against the majority here, but I just found this to be really greasy and not much flavor. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Fried Onion Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.5
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    87%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 28.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 254.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites