107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic, got compliments and saw folks getting more when I served this last night. Also agree, only half the oil/butter is necessary. I think the timing on the onions is just right, but you absolutely have to watch it very closely as soon as it begins carmelizing to avoid burning. Don't walk away from the kitchen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulabob December 02, 2012

Onion dip is my absolute favorite. This stuff is like sin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
guambyrd November 24, 2012

Too much of a sweet flavor...I'm not a fan. Think the cream cheese ruins it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rlfixauto_292355 November 17, 2012

Fantastic! I made this exactly as posted and took it to a party where everyone loved it. Can't wait to make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psycedmom March 11, 2012

To. Die. For. Yes, too much butter and oil, but I just drained it. I used a sweet onion and a red onion. I also added 2 garlic cloves and some anchovie paste. I cut the salt in half because the anchovie paste is salty too. After the onions cooled I threw them in the food processor and then mixed. I did not feel the need to season further, it had a nice kick with the cayenne. Made it to take to Thanksgiving tomorrow and I'm so glad I doubled it because we'll be having some tonight. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue November 23, 2011

Yum! I totally agree with Axe on this one, after making this, I don't now if I can ever bring myself to buy pre-made onion dip from the store again. There simply is no comparison, and the house smells like heaven while the onions are carmelizing. I followed several reviews on this one and cut the butter and oil if half and drained some of the oil off before adding it to the sour cream mixture. I also added 1/4 tsp of minced garlic to the onion mixture. This is incredibly easy to make..thanks a million Kimke!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DownHomeDinner November 08, 2011

We really liked this. I think the longer it sits, the better it tastes. I will refrigerate overnight next time and see what happens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl September 03, 2011

Easy to make, and oh so good! Thank you for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charps July 02, 2011

I would also cut the oil in 1/2 next time, but overall, this was very flavorful. I used my food processor and minced up two cloves of garlic then added the wet and blended well. I then pulsed a few times with the onions and it cut them up to just the right size. I served with carrots, chips, green peppers in a sweet bread bowl. The bread went very well with this and I will be making it again. I might add a touch more cayenne as I couldn't tell it was there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Jo May 30, 2011

This is a fantastic dip! I made this for a super bowl party we were invited to and everyone loved it. This is a keeper for sure. Its easy to make and has very few ingredients. I served this with triscuit crackers and ruffles. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 07, 2011
Pan-Fried Onion Dip