Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Fried Onion Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Fried Onion Dip

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2003

      I made this to take to my sister's house on Easter, good thing I made a double batch, because it was almost all gone by the time we left. Another sister made sure I gave her the recipe before I left. It was a huge hit!! I served the dip with 3 different kinds of crackers. My mom insisted that I bring this to my Dad's birthday party next week. I wouldn't change a thing!! Thank you so much Kimke for the wonderful dip!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      10 stars or more for this one! The flavor is outstanding!! I doubled the recipe, but did it in 2 stages. I made half the onions as directed and the other half in a fine dice plus added 3 cloves of fresh, crushed, minced garlic. UNREAL! I will NEVER buy chemical laden, store-bought chip dip again! Thanks for a stunning keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Delicious! I used a food processor on the dip, because I didn't like the stringy-ness of the onions, and I was very very pleased with the results. Thinking of adding some lemon next time, though this is so good it doesn't really need the boost.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      good, but the time is too long. The onions burned, but it had a really nice taste. I hope you find it works for you! the seasoning is good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This is a very good dip. My favorite onion dip. I actually had to carmelize the onions for longer to get them to brown and cook down. I didn't have a paddle attachment for my mixer but the food processor did it up just right. Don't use sweet onions for this one or it comes out too sweet. Serve with cut up veggies and/or plain potato chips. Great!Thanks for posting Kimke! Chef DLH

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      There is definitely more oil than necessary so I double the onions AND cut the butter and oil in half. I like to make it with the onions cut up smaller because they are otherwise a little too big. To carmelize the onions it take a little longer than stated. I added a couple cloves of garlic and the smell and taste was really exceptional. This is the most delicious dip I've ever tasted, bar none. You keep find yourself saying (over and over), "just one more bite". Serve in a big bread bowl, potato chips or crudite. Even works wonders as a burger topping. Thanks for posting. Made for Fall PAc 2008.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2014

      Goodbye, powdered onion dip! No need for you any longer. I diced the onions, and added minced garlic to the pan about 2-3 min before the onions were done. Loved this dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Easy to make with a wonderful, addictive flavor. Per other reviews, I chopped the onions and reduced the oil to about one tablespoon. I took this dip to a gathering with crackers and everyone loved it. There was much discussion about putting it on a steak or on a burger or you name it. Of course I was asked for the recipe but most folks just wanted me to make more! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      that was ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      This is so good! I am trying to hold back on eating more before my guests arrive. I only used about 1 tb of olive oil and 1 tb of butter to saute the onions, and I chopped my onions before cooking them. I love the spice from the cayenne! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Fantastic, got compliments and saw folks getting more when I served this last night. Also agree, only half the oil/butter is necessary. I think the timing on the onions is just right, but you absolutely have to watch it very closely as soon as it begins carmelizing to avoid burning. Don't walk away from the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Onion dip is my absolute favorite. This stuff is like sin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      Too much of a sweet flavor...I'm not a fan. Think the cream cheese ruins it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Fantastic! I made this exactly as posted and took it to a party where everyone loved it. Can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      To. Die. For. Yes, too much butter and oil, but I just drained it. I used a sweet onion and a red onion. I also added 2 garlic cloves and some anchovie paste. I cut the salt in half because the anchovie paste is salty too. After the onions cooled I threw them in the food processor and then mixed. I did not feel the need to season further, it had a nice kick with the cayenne. Made it to take to Thanksgiving tomorrow and I'm so glad I doubled it because we'll be having some tonight. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Yum! I totally agree with Axe on this one, after making this, I don't now if I can ever bring myself to buy pre-made onion dip from the store again. There simply is no comparison, and the house smells like heaven while the onions are carmelizing. I followed several reviews on this one and cut the butter and oil if half and drained some of the oil off before adding it to the sour cream mixture. I also added 1/4 tsp of minced garlic to the onion mixture. This is incredibly easy to make..thanks a million Kimke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      We really liked this. I think the longer it sits, the better it tastes. I will refrigerate overnight next time and see what happens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Easy to make, and oh so good! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I would also cut the oil in 1/2 next time, but overall, this was very flavorful. I used my food processor and minced up two cloves of garlic then added the wet and blended well. I then pulsed a few times with the onions and it cut them up to just the right size. I served with carrots, chips, green peppers in a sweet bread bowl. The bread went very well with this and I will be making it again. I might add a touch more cayenne as I couldn't tell it was there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This is a fantastic dip! I made this for a super bowl party we were invited to and everyone loved it. This is a keeper for sure. Its easy to make and has very few ingredients. I served this with triscuit crackers and ruffles. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Fried Onion Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.5
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    87%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 28.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 254.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes