107 Reviews

I made this to take to my sister's house on Easter, good thing I made a double batch, because it was almost all gone by the time we left. Another sister made sure I gave her the recipe before I left. It was a huge hit!! I served the dip with 3 different kinds of crackers. My mom insisted that I bring this to my Dad's birthday party next week. I wouldn't change a thing!! Thank you so much Kimke for the wonderful dip!!!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd April 20, 2003

10 stars or more for this one! The flavor is outstanding!! I doubled the recipe, but did it in 2 stages. I made half the onions as directed and the other half in a fine dice plus added 3 cloves of fresh, crushed, minced garlic. UNREAL! I will NEVER buy chemical laden, store-bought chip dip again! Thanks for a stunning keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe January 20, 2010

Yum! I totally agree with Axe on this one, after making this, I don't now if I can ever bring myself to buy pre-made onion dip from the store again. There simply is no comparison, and the house smells like heaven while the onions are carmelizing. I followed several reviews on this one and cut the butter and oil if half and drained some of the oil off before adding it to the sour cream mixture. I also added 1/4 tsp of minced garlic to the onion mixture. This is incredibly easy to make..thanks a million Kimke!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DownHomeDinner November 08, 2011

Delicious! I used a food processor on the dip, because I didn't like the stringy-ness of the onions, and I was very very pleased with the results. Thinking of adding some lemon next time, though this is so good it doesn't really need the boost.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j-jitterbug June 13, 2011

good, but the time is too long. The onions burned, but it had a really nice taste. I hope you find it works for you! the seasoning is good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrot Cake January 09, 2010

This is a very good dip. My favorite onion dip. I actually had to carmelize the onions for longer to get them to brown and cook down. I didn't have a paddle attachment for my mixer but the food processor did it up just right. Don't use sweet onions for this one or it comes out too sweet. Serve with cut up veggies and/or plain potato chips. Great!Thanks for posting Kimke! Chef DLH

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH January 15, 2009

There is definitely more oil than necessary so I double the onions AND cut the butter and oil in half. I like to make it with the onions cut up smaller because they are otherwise a little too big. To carmelize the onions it take a little longer than stated. I added a couple cloves of garlic and the smell and taste was really exceptional. This is the most delicious dip I've ever tasted, bar none. You keep find yourself saying (over and over), "just one more bite". Serve in a big bread bowl, potato chips or crudite. Even works wonders as a burger topping. Thanks for posting. Made for Fall PAc 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Porfavorcorona November 19, 2008

Goodbye, powdered onion dip! No need for you any longer. I diced the onions, and added minced garlic to the pan about 2-3 min before the onions were done. Loved this dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris #5 October 02, 2014

Easy to make with a wonderful, addictive flavor. Per other reviews, I chopped the onions and reduced the oil to about one tablespoon. I took this dip to a gathering with crackers and everyone loved it. There was much discussion about putting it on a steak or on a burger or you name it. Of course I was asked for the recipe but most folks just wanted me to make more! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom March 20, 2014

that was ok

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony August 22, 2013
Pan-Fried Onion Dip