10 Reviews

Good - I used tilapia. I do not like my fish to be very fishy. First bite was a little too fishy for me, but it was great after that.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariposa13 June 20, 2011

I tried it and thought it was fantastic! I agree with one reviewer, if you like more spice - kick it up a notch by reducing the cumin and adding more chili powder. We liked it just the way it was. Tasty but mild. I served it with buttermilk mashed potatoes! Delish! I definitely will make this again but with a tad more kick to it. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT January 03, 2012

I used tilapia and this coating was nice and crispy, yet still very light. Our only change next time will be to reduce the cumin slightly and make up for that with more chili powder. We'd just like a bit more spice. I loved how the coating stayed on the fish and that even with two strong flavors, it didn't overpower the fish itself. Served it with a squeeze of lime, rice and some veggies. Thanks for posting, Ellie! We'll be making this again soon. Made & enjoyed for Topic of the Month forum's Seafood Tag Game. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 27, 2011

Good flavor!! Even my husband liked it, and he's a standard garlic salt seasoning person.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jverb January 19, 2010

This was very good and so easy to make. I used Tilapia and olive oil. I plan to make this recipe on a regular basis.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertRose15 April 10, 2009

Very good. I also used cornmeal instead of flour. I tried adding some sugar to mine and loved the sweetness. I used tilapia.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear October 02, 2008

Here I am, again, rating a fish recipe - and saying that I like it. As a general rule, I do not like fish or seafood of any kind - although I've discovered Tilapia to be quite nice. Anyway, loved the light but flavorful crusting and the simplicity of the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Ann June 23, 2008

I made this tonight with tilapia and cornmeal instead of the flour. I didn't really measure the other things, but did equal amounts. I also added a dash of flax meal for some crunch. I know it wasn't the exact same, but I made it for my family and they loved every bite! Thanks for the inspiration - I'm sure this version is just as tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie150 February 12, 2008

Fabulous! My husband inhaled this and then started taking bites off my plate, so I wish I had made more! We used snapper and substituted chili-infused olive oil for extra heat. This makes just barely enough flour coating to cover the fish, so you may want to make a little extra. We'll definitely be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen February 10, 2008

Very simple recipe. Nice flavor, and you could still taste the fish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panhandle Sam January 10, 2009
Pan-Fried Cumin-Chile Crusted Fish