12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an outstanding recipe!!! We loved this. I made it with cod and used 60 ml sesame oil to try it out and we liked that, but agree with Jan that the original amount would be too much. I made this for the two of us so there were two fish steaks but I did make all of the dressing. I was glad I did because I served it with a cucmber salad, plain rice and it served as a sauce. When making this for six I will certainly double the dressing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us August 05, 2003

great dressing for Anything! so, the american measurements i used: 4T soy sauce (i use Braggs) 3T rice vinegar, 2T sesame oil (that was plenty). the only other thing i stirred in was about 2t red chili sauce. fantastic! at the last minute we decided against fish, so i used it for the stir fry veggies and it was a Huge hit with hubby and two teens.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gomezfamily_123 January 14, 2013

Very quick, and easy recipe - having read the reviews, I parred right back on the sesame oil, but added a bit of sugar for some sweetness. Fish perfectly cooked, and went well with stir-fried veg and rice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickirecipes November 17, 2014

Nice recipe. I added another chile. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest March 22, 2009

This is an unusual recipe for cod, but captured my imagination & my palate (altho DH slightly less so since he is a purist & less fusion adventurous). I hope you will not mind that I made a cpl of sml subs. Spring onions & red chilies are rarely found here. so I used strips of leek & gave the dressing a shot of Tobasco. I drizzled the sauce over the fish & sprinkled it w/sesame seeds to serve over rice. Thx for sharing this delicious & easy-fix recipe w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis January 10, 2009

This should be mandatory for all Zaar members!!! I can't believe how good this is. I have never cooked cod and am glad this was my initiation. The salty/sour sauce with the heat of the peppers was PERFECTION. Some other reviewers complained of saltiness....HELLO??? soy sauce is salty, that is part of the attraction. I served the sauce on the side for dipping with the peppers and onions on top of the fish. A1 perfect recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT August 31, 2008

This recipe is wonderfuland easy! I used light whole wheat flour and didn't have the spring onions or red chili, and it still came out great. Next time, I'll try it with the onions and chili. We ate this with steamed broccoli, and I sprinkled sesame seeds over the dish before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cng04 March 30, 2007

While I followed the recipe exactly, including using light soy, I found the sauce extremely salty. I would use a lot less soy next time and only dribble a little sauce on the cod, just enough for flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyKat November 28, 2006

This is a GREAT recipe. My 14 year old son who would like to eat steak every night of his life thought it was wonderful, ate all his fish before tackling all his vegetables, left nothing on his plate and asked me to "Please make that again." I've been searching for a fish recipe this good for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzymalouf September 12, 2006
Pan Fried Cod with Asian Dressing