8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this bread for a small Spanish-themed dinner party and it turned out beautifully. The bread came together quickly and was easy to knead, rose magnificently and came out of the oven with a golden brown crust and snowy white crumb. Very delicious and admirable at soaking up the juices from a tapas spread. Also, the leftovers make great toast. I used 6 cups of high-gluten flour, 1 cup all-purpose flour and got 4 nice sized-loaves, which I baked for 22 min.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retty DQD August 22, 2013

I lived in Spain for a while as an undergrad and this recipe is perfect! I followed this recipe to the letter, and the dough was stickier than most bread I've made. I halved the measurements and made four loaves out of it, which I cooked on a baking sheet at 425 for about 30 mins. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afredorap June 05, 2010

This was fantastic! Very rustic and delicious!! I halved the recipe & let my bread machine mix the dough and then I made 2 loaves from that & baked in the oven. Mine took significantly less time to bake. I brought it to a Tapas party served alongside Glazed Rosemary Honey Mushrooms and Red Bell Pepper Tapas. Great to soak up all the wonderful juices! I used the leftovers for Crostini with red peppers for a delicious light lunch the next day. This will be a "must" for every Tapas party. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinot Grigio April 10, 2008

I made this bread for my global cuisine class as it was Spanish cuisine this week ! Turned out absolutely amazing :) crispy crust and fluffy soft white bread inside , will definitely be trying it out again .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pricilia L. October 24, 2014

Amazing.... i made this for a spanish class assignment and i loved it and made several batches for my family.... It took me 30 minutes to find this recipe again:/ but this is amazing and STOP USING AUTOMATIC BREAD MACHINES! its making me mad half the fun is kneading the dough and i learned a lot about how to make bread from this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtaylor24 November 05, 2011

The bread turned out really good and we loved the taste especially dipped in Spanish olive oil. I'm not giving a star review for the simple reason I cheated considerably with this recipe and used an ABM to prep the dough. Reviewed for Veg Tag August.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl August 28, 2010

Even for this recipe alone I'd move to Spain. I used flavored oil instead of olive oil and the flavor really came through. This is the third kind of bread I'm making after 5 minute artisan and french bread and I'm so getting into this.It's been two weeks since I bought bread. I made the whole batch and froze the little breads.DDs are big fans of homemade bread.This goes in the family book!Thanks a lot for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia August 14, 2010

Photo Tag Game: This is really nice bread! Easy to put together. I halved the recipe as I thought it would have been too much for just two of us. I used my fan oven and only baked for about 20-22 minutes and they were done. I thought 30-50 minutes was a bit too long. Has a nice light crunch crust. I make bread all the time, so this will definitely be in my repertoire again (even though I normally use my bread machine!) Thanks Annacia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryQueen August 12, 2007
Pan De Horno (Real Spanish Bread)