17 Reviews

I've made this recipe twice now and LOVE it. THe first time I followed the directions exactly and they were excellant.

The next time I increased the salt by 1/2 tsp and lowered the sugar by 1/2 Tbsp. I split the dough into 4 rolls instead of 6 and before baking I brushed on egg white and sprinkled with poppy seeds.... then it was *AMAZING*.

Nice soft crumb and a slightly chewy outside... just perfect for my favorite swiss and turkey with mayo and pickle slices. I will NEVER buy hoagie rolls again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krissyburjan December 21, 2011

This recipe is a winner - but here are a few suggestions: 1 cup of all-purpose flour on a low-humidity day weighs 128 grams per cup. A kitchen scale is worth its weight in gold if you want baking success that will you save you money. Also, I used Fleischmann's bread machine yeast "rapid rise" from the jar. Store yeast in the fridge but make sure it is room temperature before you start the recipe. I used a "Zo" bread machine to mix the dough, make sure the water is the right temperature, add the oil - THEN the flour. Make pockets in the flour to add the rest of the ingredients. Make sure you have a separate pocket each for the yeast, sugar, and salt.

I kicked up the recipe by brushing melted butter on top of the loafs after final rise on the stove top, then sprinkled Italian seasoning, parmesian, and a wisp of garlic powder.

Finally, if you don't have a Hoagie bread pan, use a 9 X 13 pyrex baking dish (it has sides), make 3 loaves. They will touch each other after rising, but - after baking, they will easily separate. They will be loafy, soft, yet hold together. Simply cut the bread to the size you want.

It took me 3 batches to figure this out! But tonight my hubby asked me to bake these every week! He says he will never buy Publix hoagies again! Oh - also take them out at the right time, these rolls will look slightly brown and will continue to cook for a couple of minutes when pulled from the oven. Maybe that prevents "crunchy". Happy baking !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Triciadsarasota March 21, 2011

This dough came out like Cake batter. I had to start over and add more flour for it to form a ball.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
everfriend67 July 28, 2008

The is a great roll recipe. I used it with leftover meatballs to make meatball subs and they stood up to the test. Soft and chewy but didn't fall apart. I used bread flour which consequently needed a splash more water. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I did an egg wash right before going into the oven and topped with poppy seeds, Italian seasoning and coarse sea salt. Baked at 375 for 21 minutes. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BeeGee December 13, 2014

I don't think I've ever actually reviewed a recipe, but I just had to make a comment. My dough came out lovely and elastic and easy to work with. I admit I am totally baffled how anyone could come up with dough the consistency of cake batter. That had to take some serious work to accomplish. ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophistzecook April 27, 2014

After one batch , AMAZING!! I have never had much luck with a bread machine, am finally able to make passable bread, but thats about it. this recipe worked like a charm, was not sticky at all. The color got pretty dark around 18 mins. and they were done, but this is prob just difference in ovens.<br/>I have read the reviews and I dont understand how 2 3/4 cups of flour and 1 cup water can be like batter.these are so good i am trying different thing with the post 2nd rise dough. Lots of fun this success thing. The only prob I've had is making them the same size, y'know 5 big 1 small. thx Pammy, will try some of your other recipes for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hammer088 March 21, 2013

UPDATE: I have made these hoagies at least 10 times now, and they always turn out perfect. I have never had a problem with the dough being too thin or the rolls not rising. These are the only sandwich rolls we use now. They make amazing Italian beef sandwiches, French dips, submarines, and pizza breads. After baking, I brush them with butter and sprinkle them with garlic salt. They are fabulous!

Original Review: These made awesome pizza breads! I love how crunchy the crust got! I didn't stretch the oval out long enough because mine ended up being more round after they rose another 20 minutes. But, that doesn't affect the taste! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover April 03, 2012

Similar to what a few others have experienced, this came out of the bread machine with the consistency of pancake batter. I had to add close to two cups of flour to get it to a point that I could work with. The finished product was closer to pita bread than a hoagie roll. I followed the recipe exactly and it's been a long time since I've had a recipe fail this bad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhelt100 February 02, 2011

An amazing Hoagie Recipe. Its the only one we use!!!! THANKS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hartigan2003 September 20, 2010

I've made these at least a dozen times. They turn out perfect every time. My family loves them with BBQ chicken or BBQ pulled pork sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shans4boysak May 05, 2010
Pammy's Hoagie's (Dough Made in Bread Machine)