Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pammy's Hoagie's (Dough Made in Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pammy's Hoagie's (Dough Made in Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2011

      I've made this recipe twice now and LOVE it. THe first time I followed the directions exactly and they were excellant.

      The next time I increased the salt by 1/2 tsp and lowered the sugar by 1/2 Tbsp. I split the dough into 4 rolls instead of 6 and before baking I brushed on egg white and sprinkled with poppy seeds.... then it was *AMAZING*.

      Nice soft crumb and a slightly chewy outside... just perfect for my favorite swiss and turkey with mayo and pickle slices. I will NEVER buy hoagie rolls again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      This recipe is a winner - but here are a few suggestions: 1 cup of all-purpose flour on a low-humidity day weighs 128 grams per cup. A kitchen scale is worth its weight in gold if you want baking success that will you save you money. Also, I used Fleischmann's bread machine yeast "rapid rise" from the jar. Store yeast in the fridge but make sure it is room temperature before you start the recipe. I used a "Zo" bread machine to mix the dough, make sure the water is the right temperature, add the oil - THEN the flour. Make pockets in the flour to add the rest of the ingredients. Make sure you have a separate pocket each for the yeast, sugar, and salt.

      I kicked up the recipe by brushing melted butter on top of the loafs after final rise on the stove top, then sprinkled Italian seasoning, parmesian, and a wisp of garlic powder.

      Finally, if you don't have a Hoagie bread pan, use a 9 X 13 pyrex baking dish (it has sides), make 3 loaves. They will touch each other after rising, but - after baking, they will easily separate. They will be loafy, soft, yet hold together. Simply cut the bread to the size you want.

      It took me 3 batches to figure this out! But tonight my hubby asked me to bake these every week! He says he will never buy Publix hoagies again! Oh - also take them out at the right time, these rolls will look slightly brown and will continue to cook for a couple of minutes when pulled from the oven. Maybe that prevents "crunchy". Happy baking !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This dough came out like Cake batter. I had to start over and add more flour for it to form a ball.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2014

      The is a great roll recipe. I used it with leftover meatballs to make meatball subs and they stood up to the test. Soft and chewy but didn't fall apart. I used bread flour which consequently needed a splash more water. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I did an egg wash right before going into the oven and topped with poppy seeds, Italian seasoning and coarse sea salt. Baked at 375 for 21 minutes. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      I don't think I've ever actually reviewed a recipe, but I just had to make a comment. My dough came out lovely and elastic and easy to work with. I admit I am totally baffled how anyone could come up with dough the consistency of cake batter. That had to take some serious work to accomplish. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      After one batch , AMAZING!! I have never had much luck with a bread machine, am finally able to make passable bread, but thats about it. this recipe worked like a charm, was not sticky at all. The color got pretty dark around 18 mins. and they were done, but this is prob just difference in ovens.<br/>I have read the reviews and I dont understand how 2 3/4 cups of flour and 1 cup water can be like batter.these are so good i am trying different thing with the post 2nd rise dough. Lots of fun this success thing. The only prob I've had is making them the same size, y'know 5 big 1 small. thx Pammy, will try some of your other recipes for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      UPDATE: I have made these hoagies at least 10 times now, and they always turn out perfect. I have never had a problem with the dough being too thin or the rolls not rising. These are the only sandwich rolls we use now. They make amazing Italian beef sandwiches, French dips, submarines, and pizza breads. After baking, I brush them with butter and sprinkle them with garlic salt. They are fabulous!

      Original Review: These made awesome pizza breads! I love how crunchy the crust got! I didn't stretch the oval out long enough because mine ended up being more round after they rose another 20 minutes. But, that doesn't affect the taste! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Similar to what a few others have experienced, this came out of the bread machine with the consistency of pancake batter. I had to add close to two cups of flour to get it to a point that I could work with. The finished product was closer to pita bread than a hoagie roll. I followed the recipe exactly and it's been a long time since I've had a recipe fail this bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      An amazing Hoagie Recipe. Its the only one we use!!!! THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      I've made these at least a dozen times. They turn out perfect every time. My family loves them with BBQ chicken or BBQ pulled pork sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I have made these twice and both times they come out not looking like a hoagie at all. They do not raise enough to make the rolls big enough to use for steak sandwiches. They look like bread sticks. I did everything exactly that the recipe said. I will not use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This recipe is the BEST! I use it frequently because it is so quick and the bread tastes good. Loaves are useful for sandwichs or just as crunchy bread with dinner. And I make THIS recipe; don't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I made these today since we were having sandwich night. I went ahead and purchased hoagie's from Publix in case these didn't work out for us. I used my bread machine to make the dough. The dough was not sticky at all. I didn't even have to use flour after I took the dough out for rolling. I did put a tiny, tiny bit of oil in my hands when forming the ovals. Once baked, I thought the bread had a consistency more like french bread. It had a very different consistency to the hoagie's from Publix. It was still good, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I have made these twice. Next time I am going to double the recipe. My husband doesn't want store bought Hoagie rolls again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      The dough was much easier to work with than many breads I've tried and I didn't find it too sticky at all. Great tasting rolls with a lovely texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I made these a couple days ago...they are great...did not last long at all...right now I made my second batch and waiting for them to rise...cant wait yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      This is the best dough I have tried. These rolls are good right out of the oven and even re-heated later. I have made 3 batches and my 10-yr. old thinks they are the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pammy's Hoagie's (Dough Made in Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    13%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 390.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes