Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Palak Paneer (Indian Fresh Spinach With Paneer Cheese) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Palak Paneer (Indian Fresh Spinach With Paneer Cheese)

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2010

      Not exactly what I was looking for, but still pretty tasty. I used whole coriander, and didn't care for the seeds/texture (my fault). Going to try this one again but adjust the spices a little. If you can't find the paneer, an excellent substitute is Mexican Queso Blanco (aka queso fresco) - the texture & taste is very similar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I made half a recipe for the two of us and it was great. Loved all the flavors and how they meld together. I made homemade paneer Homemade Paneer (Panir - Indian Cheese) to use in the recipe. Served with Best Ever Chicken Balti, Naan plus puppodums as an appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      Fantastic recipe. I like this much better than our local Indian restaurant's palak paneer. I think I added a little more cream because I had to warm it longer at the end (I could only find frozen paneer.) I used normal spinach leaves, and it made it stringy so next time I'll be sure to find the baby spinach. I feel about twenty pounds overweight from dinner, but fiance and I really loved this. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      This is a really tasty recipe. I used Stinging Nettles in place of the spinach but followed the recipe pretty much exactly as written. I think I'll add a bit more spice next time as I like this with a stronger flavour. I served it with a combo of wild and brown rice. Thanks for posting I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Really fantastic, delicious. Couldn't get better at a restaurant. I made my own fat-free paneer for this and followed the recipe to a T. Next time I will add some cayenne for some heat. I don't think it makes 6 servings though--not for an entree anyway. It came out to 2-3 modest portions. This is a major keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      We absolutely love this recipe and have made it several times for guests. I use half and half instead of the heavy cream. It freezes really well to reheat for lunch. Both our Indian and American friends give this one two thumbs up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      as is, this recipe is pretty good. i made it once, and then subsequently tweaked it to suit our tastes more. i omitted the paprika and added an equivalent amount of cayenne powder. i also used 3/4tsp each of cumin seeds and mustard seeds and sauteed it along with the onion. i then added the spinach directly to the onion, tomato and spices (i didn't see the need to cook the spinach separately). i also pureed all the spinach and added 4tbsp of half and half at the end of cooking, instead of the yoghurt, this way it turned out super-creamy. it was perfect this way, and i will be making it with these modifications in future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      Wow, Sue L - this was delicious! Even my husband who does not like any kind of leaf said so!! The only minor change I made was to puree the full spinach mixture in the blender rather than half as your recipe suggests cos that way my DH would not know what the gravy was :). But he liked it even after I told him what it was. So thank you once, twice and many times more for an easy and tasty way to make my DH eat some leaves!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      My wife thanks you. I thank you. This is good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      Amazing flavor! My family and I loved it. We will definitely make it again. To make sure I get all the benefits of eating greens, I use my pure clay pot to cook it. The steam locker lid hold almost all the steam and seal essential water soluble nutrients in giving you the healthiest food possible. Most importantly, it metal and chemical free (does not react with the food). I got mine from mecware.US (online)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2014

      Really good. I added a bit more spinach (total of 350g), and doubled the spices. I didn't have ginger so i used allspice instead. It was seriously easy to make and delicious, quite authentic. Just adjust to your taste. I would use more chilli and garlic but that's just because I really like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      This was fantastic! Needed a fast dinner (pulled over in the grocery store parking lot and searched for a fast Indian food recipe) and this delivered. I omitted the paneer (might add fried or baked tofu cubes next time) and didn't have yogurt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was really fantastic. Next time I won't cook the spinach first - just throw it into the pot when you're supposed to add the cooked spinach. It'll cook down just fine and save you some time and an extra pan to clean. I also don't need to blend the mixture since it cooked down enough to be very soft. Excellent recipe and quite healthy. It's really just a lot of spinach and spices, plus heavy cream. <br/><br/>Also, this was NOT 6 servings. I'd double this recipe easily next time for 4 servings. Spinach cooks down a LOT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

    • on April 03, 2013

      Amazing! I am addicted! I found this recipe a little laborious to make but well worth the effort and pile of dishes it created. The spices and flavors are spot-on -- tastes just like the palak paneer at my fav Indian restaurant. I used Mexican queso blanco in place of the paneer and it worked perfectly (substitution based on a recommendation from a cooking blog); I was able to buy a bunch of queso blanco at Costco for cheap. I would suggest doubling this recipe, as the spinach cooks down significantly... and it's so yummy, you'll wish you had more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      The flavor is outstanding. We followed the recipe exactly except for adding a coriander/cumin spice mix vs pure coriander (just what I had in the pantry). We used a wok and a Vitamix blender. This would be a five star recipe if we had pureed 1/4 instead of 1/2 the spinach. With 1/2 there was too much puree and it was more soupy than ideal. However, if you close your eyes it's outstanding. We made homemade paneer using this recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/aarti-sequeira/paneer-homemade-indian-cheese-recipe/index.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I agree, more cream is needed and it could use a bit more heat. Also, I used regular frozen spinach and it was stringy and also got strings all caught up in my immersian blender. I replaced yoghurt with sour cream as well, and I think that was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      This is a very good recipe. I tweaked it a little by adding 1/2 tsp of curry powder and dash of cumin powder. I also, added a fresh grated ginger and omittted the coriander did not have any on hand. I used chili ready tomatoes from Walmart and a 1 tbspn of sugar to get rid of the twang. It turned out really good my family and friends love love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      A keeper, though I used two 9 oz. bags of baby spinach. Other ingredients as written.
      Second time, it doubled very nicely, using two large boxes of organic baby spinach. I used a hand blender before adding the paneer and it turned a quite soupy mixture into just the right texture. Extremely well received.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      Wife and I loved it - restaurant quality

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      Really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Palak Paneer (Indian Fresh Spinach With Paneer Cheese)

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.7
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    57%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 241.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    paneer cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes