Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pakistani Kima (Hamburger Curry) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pakistani Kima (Hamburger Curry)

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      What a great dish! As if it isn't already a quick fix, I have found a few substitutions can speed up the prep even more. For the potatoes, I usually grab a couple of handfuls of shredded hashbrowns from the freezer. I also like to use diced tomatoes and frozen green beans. My family seems to like it on rice, but tastes great without, too. Likewise, I think the salt could be reduced a little bit without compromising any flavor. Overall, a winner...thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      Very good once I added a couple of chopped green chilies and increased the spices to at least a teaspoonful each. I also added garam masala. I used green peas instead of beans, partly because that's what I had on hand and partly because peas are more authentic. Serve with paratha and yoghurt, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      Tried this tonight and I have to say it was well received by my guys. I used less salt and more curry powder, but other than that made it as posted. We ate it with pieces of naan. Definitely a "do-over."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      My curry loving kiddos loved this dish. I didn't add the green beans; but otherwise really enjoyed this very easy supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      This is super easy to make and absolutely delicious!! My husband and I like spicy food so we upped the amount of spices. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

    • on May 01, 2011

      This was very good, different from the everyday hamburger dish. I made it exactly as written, except I did not have tomatoes on hand, so I omitted them. This turned out to be full of flavor and I will be making this again. Thanks for a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      We have never had a curry before so I chose yours thinking it looked fairly basic. We liked it once we got used to the sweet taste. It was definately something different but good. I will make this again, it has ingredients we always have on hand, thank you for sharing this intresting dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      3.5 stars. This was good but it did Wow me. My kids did like it so that was a bonus. It was a nice change in the rotation of dinners. Thank you. I added red pepper flakes to my dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Wonderful! I used olive oil instead of butter to saute the onions and garlic, added a green pepper and peas instead of green beans, substituted ground turkey, and upped the spice by a good amount. I'm not sure by how much because I shook in a pretty sizable amount of curry powder. Oh, and I added chili powder for an extra kick. Serving suggestion: Put out a bottle of your favorite hot sauce! Great recipe! Lots of room for improvisation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Very good! Let's see what were my modifications. Used oil in place of butter since I do not mix meat and dairy. I reduced the salt to one teaspoon, upped the ginger and turmeric to 1/2 teaspoon each. I also used a can of crushed tomatoes and added 1/2 teaspoon of garam masala. This time I made it with ground chicken but will try it vegetarian by using chick peas like a reviewer suggested. Very versatile recipe and very tasty. Great recipe!
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      My whole family really liked this dish! I used all fresh veggies, but will try frozen peas next time instead of the green beans. May also try with ground chicken to see how that turns out. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was great b/c it was so simple yet flavorful. I did add a couple of tsp of sugar b/c I tend to favor a sweeter curry. I served it with yellow saffron rice which complimented it very well. Thank you for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      An excellent template for a quick curry, endlessly variable. I doubled the garlic and curry powder, and use a teaspoon each of pepper and ginger; a 14.5-oz. can of diced tomatoes is a good timesaver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      I have been cooking this for over thirty years. But when I was living with vegetarians, we substituted garbanzo beans for the hamburger. I think it made it even better. My non-vegetarian friends love it and don't miss the meat at all. I highly recommend the More with Less cookbook. It has been my basic cookbook since we got married way back in 1974.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      DELICIOUS!!!! My picky family loved this!!!! I left out the potatoes and green beans, and served it over rice, and noone had any complaints!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Delicious, and a great change of pace for a week night supper! This was quick and easy to prepare-- my husband helped me (peeling potatoes, crushing garlic) and it went together in no time. I used extra potatoes and no green beans (didn't have any) as well as 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes. I also "amped up" the spices, adding garam masala as suggested by several prior reviewers and a few extra "dashes" of everything else. Served it with some naan I had in the freezer and a dollop of sour cream. Plain yogurt would have been better (more authentic) but we were all out. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Really really good. This dish is so different from my normal cuisine, that it was also fun to put together. I did add to the spices 1/2 tsp each cumin & paprika, 1/4 tsp each cayenne pepper & cinnamon and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. After tasting it, I wanted a bit more heat and added some crushed red pepper to my plate. Thank you for posting something different for ground meats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I loved how this recipe was so easy to make and had so much flavor. I was also happy to use up a can of green beans, a can of whole potatoes and a can of diced tomatoes that had been sitting in the kitchen cabinet for months. I live alone and usually cook for just myself so I'm going to freeze the leftovers as some of the other reviewers suggested. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Great recipe! Used 6 potatoes and peas instead of green beans. Next time I'll use even more vegetables to stretch the recipe farther (and leave us with more leftovers!) Also added a bit of Garam Masala per the suggestion of other reviewers. Super mix of flavors! Thanks for sharing Kaarin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pakistani Kima (Hamburger Curry)

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.5
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    52%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 80.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 831.2 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 20.5 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites