27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies were delicious with a little cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top. I'd like to try making them again with almond extract instead of vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atomic Girl Cooks! December 23, 2011

I have tried over 20 recipes for cut out cookies looking for one that stays soft and tastes great!! My search has ended!! These were truly made for today's new big 3" cookie cutters. We made trees at Christmas and hearts for Valentine's for my daughter's kindergarten class. I'm getting a reputation now as the Mom you want to make treats at grade school parties!! If you put these in a sealable plastic container in the fridge they will stay soft and last quite a while. THANKS A TON FOR POSTING!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KS Farmwife March 01, 2010

I made these for Christmas and my entire family gobbled them up! They turned out soft, delicious, and flavorful. I made the mistake of not cooking one sheet of cookies long enough... make sure they are a little poofy before your take them out of the oven. I iced them with royal icing instead of the buttercream because I needed to package and travel with them. The royal icing gave a good sweetness to the cookie. These are GREAT dipped in coffee (my after Christmas breakfast!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galexa December 27, 2008

This seemed a little too sticky and having read some other reviews I added a bit more flour. Then, due to unexpected events, the batter sat for over a week. I rolled it out and cut out circles of two sizes. I did have to use a lot of flour to keep the dough from sticking to my rolling mat, but that didn't affect the end result. I decorated a few with frosting, some, I dipped half the cookie in melted chocolate, and some that I cut in smaller circles, I made into sandwich cookies with chocolate or strawberry preserves in the middle. They all tasted pretty good, but I am partial to the chocolate dippers. I got a lot more than 36 cookies but I guess I rolled it pretty thin. A great cookie all the same.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmmd December 24, 2008

If I could rate this recipe higher than 5 stars, I would. After many disappointing batches of sugar cookies, I have finally found the mother of all sugar cookies. These are fool proof, and absolutely delicious. The recipe for her buttercream frosting is the perfect compliment to this wonderful tasting cookie. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hdelawder30 December 21, 2008

I love these cookies..I frosted them with buttercream frosting. They melt in your mouth!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird December 11, 2008

I usually don't like cake-like cookies but these were superlicious! They almost melted in your mouth. Our first batch never made it to the cut-out stage we just kept making tablespoon size drop cookies and they were gone! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Provl8dy in training March 01, 2008

These cookies were so moist and soft and just yummy! I made them far Valentine's Day in lip print shapes:) and everyone loved them, thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midwest Maven February 17, 2008

This Recipie was absolutely excellent. I tried to use it the day i made it and it was quite sticky so i left in fridge until the morning and it was a beautiful consistency. When it got softer i put flour on the counter so it wouldnt stick. My family loved them and I used the buttercream frosting and they were absolutely delish. The best sour cream cut out cookies i have ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SanctuaryAngel September 18, 2007
Paige's Sour Cream Cut out Cookies