Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paige's Sour Cream Cut out Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paige's Sour Cream Cut out Cookies

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      I requested this recipe and when I made them I found out that these are THE BEST cookies. They stay soft and full of flavor. I used almond extract instead of vanilla and absolutely loved the results. You can make these cookies as big or small as you like, and the Page's Buttercream Frosting is the perfect frosting for these cookies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      My daughter and I made decorated Christmas cookies together for the first time this year and we choose this recipe due to its previous great reviews. We were thrilled with the results! The cookies were so easy to roll out and they tasted terrific! We did not change the cookie recipe at all, and we used Paige's Buttercream Frosting to decorate them. Thanks, taylortwo, we'll make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2002

      These are great cookies! I loved the addition of sour cream in the cookies - it makes for a unique texture and taste in these sugar cookies. I found the dough very easy to work with and the taste was great. I frosted these with Paige's buttercream frosting Paige's Buttercream Frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2004

      These cut-out cookies turned out great! The sour cream gave the cookies a soft, moist texture. Before I iced them, I took a bite of one and they almost reminded me of an animal cookie, but much softer. I iced them with Paige's Butter Cream Frosting. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      I had made sour cream sugar cookies before and then I lost the recipe but these are pretty close and just as yummy! My son and I made them today and loved decorating them and of course eating them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      I am not a fan of the "puffy cutouts", but my sister and niece LOVED them! I made them a huge platter for Christmas, and they raved about them. Good thing I gave her the recipe, too! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, which was declared to be "much much better than L*fthouse Cookies!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      These are my favorites. Have you ever had Cheryl & Co. Cookies??? Their from the Ohio region. Anyways, they are the best and in my opinion tastes just like them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      These are very good cut out cookies! They hold their shape well and they taste very very yummy! (I don't care much for traditional sugar cookie cutouts!) This is my new "go to" recipe for holiday cut outs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I live in CA and have only eaten Cheryl and Co. cookies twice so I don%u2019t claim to be an expert on them. However, I feel that Paige%u2019s recipe comes as close to the original as I have found. As for tips, the cookies are better the second day as the flavors meld and the soft, cakey texture of the cookies is uniform. Do not over bake - in my oven I baked them 6 minutes, turned the tray, and baked 1 minute more. Make sure that they are just set, with no color. I left them on the tray only a minute before moving to a cooling rack. A quarter teaspoon of almond extract added to the dough produced a rich taste. The frosting is delicious (again, with a little almond extract) although whipping cream in place of milk made the frosting soft %u2013 but wonderful! My family proclaimed these the only cut out cookies they will eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      These cookies were delicious with a little cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top. I'd like to try making them again with almond extract instead of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

    • on March 01, 2010

      I have tried over 20 recipes for cut out cookies looking for one that stays soft and tastes great!! My search has ended!! These were truly made for today's new big 3" cookie cutters. We made trees at Christmas and hearts for Valentine's for my daughter's kindergarten class. I'm getting a reputation now as the Mom you want to make treats at grade school parties!! If you put these in a sealable plastic container in the fridge they will stay soft and last quite a while. THANKS A TON FOR POSTING!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I made these for Christmas and my entire family gobbled them up! They turned out soft, delicious, and flavorful. I made the mistake of not cooking one sheet of cookies long enough... make sure they are a little poofy before your take them out of the oven. I iced them with royal icing instead of the buttercream because I needed to package and travel with them. The royal icing gave a good sweetness to the cookie. These are GREAT dipped in coffee (my after Christmas breakfast!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This seemed a little too sticky and having read some other reviews I added a bit more flour. Then, due to unexpected events, the batter sat for over a week. I rolled it out and cut out circles of two sizes. I did have to use a lot of flour to keep the dough from sticking to my rolling mat, but that didn't affect the end result. I decorated a few with frosting, some, I dipped half the cookie in melted chocolate, and some that I cut in smaller circles, I made into sandwich cookies with chocolate or strawberry preserves in the middle. They all tasted pretty good, but I am partial to the chocolate dippers. I got a lot more than 36 cookies but I guess I rolled it pretty thin. A great cookie all the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      If I could rate this recipe higher than 5 stars, I would. After many disappointing batches of sugar cookies, I have finally found the mother of all sugar cookies. These are fool proof, and absolutely delicious. The recipe for her buttercream frosting is the perfect compliment to this wonderful tasting cookie. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I love these cookies..I frosted them with buttercream frosting. They melt in your mouth!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      I usually don't like cake-like cookies but these were superlicious! They almost melted in your mouth. Our first batch never made it to the cut-out stage we just kept making tablespoon size drop cookies and they were gone! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      These cookies were so moist and soft and just yummy! I made them far Valentine's Day in lip print shapes:) and everyone loved them, thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      This Recipie was absolutely excellent. I tried to use it the day i made it and it was quite sticky so i left in fridge until the morning and it was a beautiful consistency. When it got softer i put flour on the counter so it wouldnt stick. My family loved them and I used the buttercream frosting and they were absolutely delish. The best sour cream cut out cookies i have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      These were great!!! They taste just like professional bakery style cout out cookies. I was looking for a sour cream cut-out cookie recipe and this really took the hat!! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paige's Sour Cream Cut out Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    39%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 24.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 42.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes