27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I requested this recipe and when I made them I found out that these are THE BEST cookies. They stay soft and full of flavor. I used almond extract instead of vanilla and absolutely loved the results. You can make these cookies as big or small as you like, and the Page's Buttercream Frosting is the perfect frosting for these cookies!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
applee October 22, 2002

My daughter and I made decorated Christmas cookies together for the first time this year and we choose this recipe due to its previous great reviews. We were thrilled with the results! The cookies were so easy to roll out and they tasted terrific! We did not change the cookie recipe at all, and we used Paige's Buttercream Frosting to decorate them. Thanks, taylortwo, we'll make these again and again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss gracie December 24, 2002

These are great cookies! I loved the addition of sour cream in the cookies - it makes for a unique texture and taste in these sugar cookies. I found the dough very easy to work with and the taste was great. I frosted these with Paige's buttercream frosting Paige's Buttercream Frosting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 07, 2002

These cut-out cookies turned out great! The sour cream gave the cookies a soft, moist texture. Before I iced them, I took a bite of one and they almost reminded me of an animal cookie, but much softer. I iced them with Paige's Butter Cream Frosting. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. April 10, 2004

I had made sour cream sugar cookies before and then I lost the recipe but these are pretty close and just as yummy! My son and I made them today and loved decorating them and of course eating them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princesspharm March 27, 2004

I am not a fan of the "puffy cutouts", but my sister and niece LOVED them! I made them a huge platter for Christmas, and they raved about them. Good thing I gave her the recipe, too! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, which was declared to be "much much better than L*fthouse Cookies!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Lee January 06, 2004

These are my favorites. Have you ever had Cheryl & Co. Cookies??? Their from the Ohio region. Anyways, they are the best and in my opinion tastes just like them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Robinson December 20, 2003

The dough was super easy to work with. I added a little red food coloring to it since I was making Valentine's Day cookies. Left plain, they sour cream added a slight odd flavor. Everyone liked them better when I topped them with Butter Cream Icing (Buttercream Frosting). We did notice they went stale rather quickly though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) February 24, 2015

These are very good cut out cookies! They hold their shape well and they taste very very yummy! (I don't care much for traditional sugar cookie cutouts!) This is my new "go to" recipe for holiday cut outs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi R. April 04, 2012

I live in CA and have only eaten Cheryl and Co. cookies twice so I don%u2019t claim to be an expert on them. However, I feel that Paige%u2019s recipe comes as close to the original as I have found. As for tips, the cookies are better the second day as the flavors meld and the soft, cakey texture of the cookies is uniform. Do not over bake - in my oven I baked them 6 minutes, turned the tray, and baked 1 minute more. Make sure that they are just set, with no color. I left them on the tray only a minute before moving to a cooling rack. A quarter teaspoon of almond extract added to the dough produced a rich taste. The frosting is delicious (again, with a little almond extract) although whipping cream in place of milk made the frosting soft %u2013 but wonderful! My family proclaimed these the only cut out cookies they will eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alupica February 12, 2012
Paige's Sour Cream Cut out Cookies