52 Reviews

I've used this recipe several times now with great success. Quick, easy, and way better than anything from a can!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMCGS June 22, 2012

Yum.

I baked two cakes and used one recipe of the frosting, as it's so sweet, but good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thepetnanny April 14, 2012

this was a very easy recipe! I definitely will make it again! I did cut down on the sugar, although not enough. I used 3 cups instead of 4 but still a little too sweet for our liking. However it was the PERFECT consistency and went on the cupcakes very easily! I just put it in a ziplock bag and cut off a tip and piped it on! Looks great! Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead March 23, 2012

Oh wow, sugar comma. 1 out of 4 said the frosting left something to be desired. My son, who's birthday it was, loved it. He liked sweets though, so no surprise. The rest of the boys and myself said it was odd and way too sweet. I used unsalted butter and imitation vanilla, maybe it was the vanilla. I also piped swirly clouds onto the cupcakes, which may have just been way to much icing. Next time, I may actually frost them with a THIN layer. In small amounts I am sure its fine. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sumisan October 15, 2011

I've made this twice now, and with excellent results. I used decorating squeeze bottles to "pipe" the icing on and was very pleased with how it turned out. Prepared for White Wedding Cake Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud June 20, 2010

Yum! I think I might prefer to use salted butter though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adopt Pets April 25, 2010

this was very good. came out perfect for decorating. will keep this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trustyourinstincts April 24, 2010

This is GREAT! I made it for my daughter's doll cake and it was so easy and very yummy. This will be used many times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mumsie Meem April 14, 2010

Very easy and well written recipe. My frosting came out perfectly. I did not tint my frosting so I did not do step five. The only difference with my frosting and the photo was that mine came out more of a pale yellow cream color than a bright white. I guess the photo shows someone who used the clear vanilla extract? I used the normal brown. However, it wasn't important to have bright white frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cminmd2008 January 10, 2010

Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaKL77 October 28, 2009
Paige's Buttercream Frosting