103 Reviews

I've had the good luck to be exposed to authentic Thai food in a variety of restaurants and in private homes. Unfortunately, this recipe is not authentic pad thai. Good pad thai is not hard to make and tamarind is not particularly hard to find if you have access to an Asian market - I would recommend trying a different recipe. The hubby said it tasted good, but not good enough to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Space Cake Cook January 31, 2010

I gave this one star because it is not horrible. The meal itself is edible but not enjoyable if you want to eat Pad Thai. I have had Pad Thai at five different restaurants. They all tasted relatively different and they were all pretty good. This recipe should not be called Pad Thai. Maybe "Fish Sauce Noodles and Ketchup"? I feel bad for rating it horribly but I felt that I had to be honest. I would not be happy if I was served this at a restaurant. Pretty obvious ketchup taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shaun13b January 29, 2010

Yum! I omitted the fish sauce and it was great! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DitaVT January 27, 2010

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. January 11, 2010

This is SO good, I'm only a quarter of the way through my bowl that I need to stop and write how much I love it!! It was so incredibly easy and quick to make that we ended up having an early dinner - and no one's complaining! I doubled the sauce ingredients (though kept the sugar amount the same, as I didn't want it too sweet) I had some leftover cooked ground beef so I used that since I didn't have any chicken. The eggs thickened the sauce up nicely. I made a pretty large amount of food, but between the three of us tonight, there may not be much left by the time we're done! I didn't have any bean sprouts either (it was a bit of a last minute meal) but I added some green beans for some crunch. Skipped the cilantro and nuts as well. It's also great with and without the lime. Wonderful dish and everyone loves it! I definitely need to make this again! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu November 14, 2009

Hey out there all you naysayers. Stop worrying about the ketchup and Worcestershire sauce and just make this! This was so tasty! My family loved it! Based on the recommendations of others, I doubled the sauce ingredients. The package I used had 13 oz of rice noodles, and this recipe still worked fine. I made a few small changes. I used 1 lb of chicken, 1 lb of shrimp. I cut back the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp. Instead of incorporating the eggs, I scrambled them up into small bits ahead of time and then incorporated them when I added the onions and sprouts. My sauce was a little thin, probably because I didn't incorporate the eggs, but it worked out just fine. I totally forgot to add the limes at the end, but we still loved it. My 5 year old thought it was a bit too spicy, but she kept coming back for more after her lips cooled off. My 15 month old daughter cleaned her tray. I guess her milk bottle helped cool her down. She LOVED it. Definitely a keeper. Thanks so much Martha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoesmama November 10, 2009

This is just so good...quick, easy and perfect for a weeknight meal. To those who rate without tasting - why? Maybe it doesn't have tamarind juice but I know that I have ketchup and Worcestershire in the house all the time so I don't need to make a special trip when the craving for this absolutely delicious dish. We were surprised that the kids enjoy it too (we did of course cut back a bit on the spices). I don't know that we have had it the same way twice - a great dish to finish up some veggies (I know not "authentic" but yummy). Thank-you Martha. PS - it is very much Pad Thai...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DancingPanda October 17, 2009

I don't really know what to say about this recipe. It doesn't look like a Pad Thai recipe. Where is the tamarind juice? And as far as I know there is no ketchup and Worcestershire sauce in an authentic Pad Thai. It may taste good as everyone else claims but I would bet that it isn't Pad Thai.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apes September 23, 2009

This was really good! I did the egg a little differently, and slightly scrambled it in the pan (away from the chicken) before adding the sauce, but other than followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison F September 14, 2009
Pad Thai With Chicken and Shrimp