103 Reviews

My husband and I both thought this recipe was okay. It is nothing like the dish we get at the Thai restaurant in town. I thought it was too try. Maybe need to do as others have said and double the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 26, 2011

WOW this is just as good as my favorite Pad Thai at the restaurant! I used only two chicken breasts and also used half of the package of rice noodles - 2 bundles of the four. I doubled the sauce as everyone suggested - can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook September 05, 2011

loved this..doubled the sauce as suggested by reviewers. I also increased the red pepper flakes as we like spicy. Will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renie 77 September 01, 2011

Made as written with a couple of exceptions. I did double the sauce per the suggestions in the heading. I added about one tablespoon of oyster sauce which I already had on hand and it is in many other recipes. I also added some baked tofu (yum) and a bit less of the chicken and shrimp. One thing I will definitely do differently next time is beat and cook the egg first, then set aside to add to the cooked mixture (this is how I've made pad thai in the past). I felt adding it to the sauce made it cloudy and won't use that method in the future. other than that, a great pad thai recipe I will use again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick August 28, 2011

I doubled this recipe. Although my family and I GOBBLED this up (so it must have been good!), I was disappointed because I don't think it has enough of an authentic Pad Thai taste. Although I didn't have any roasted peanuts, which I know really adds to the flavor. I think I will keep searching for the perfect Pad Thai recipe.. :-/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan September 25, 2010

Ehhhhhh, not as great as I was expecting, especially with the 4 star review. I did as others said and tripled the sauce, and left out the shrimp and added a little more crushed red pepper, but other than that, made it as the recipe directs. Tripling the sauce did the trick, it had about the right amount (although I like my food extra saucy!) My biggest complaint was the smell. I think it was the combo of fish sauce and ketchup, but it was really unappetizing. Once it all came together with the cilantro and onions, it did taste pretty good, was spicy and filling, but it's hard for me to get over that ketchup-y, fishy smell (that's still lingering around my apartment.) I might try this one again, but I wasn't highly impressed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deniseeosu August 01, 2010

This was delicious - my first attempt at making Pad Thai and only my second time eating it. I used chicken only and omitted the cilantro as I don't care for it. Will definitely make it again, probably with shrimp as well next time. This is also the first dish that my son has asked me to show him how to make before he moves into his own home next month!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather in Barrie June 11, 2010

To echo what others have said: would recommend the double batch of sauce and there is A LOT of cilantro. The 1 cup chopped cilantro that I mixed in was plenty - I did not add the remaining cilantro at the end. Also, I didn't chop the peanuts - just sprinkled whole ones on top. Delicious! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fejta_Pita May 17, 2010
Pad Thai With Chicken and Shrimp