36 Reviews

this pad thai was great! I recomend doubling the sauce (fish sauce, vin, black pepper, brown sugar., ect?) I also add red pepper flakes for heat. I didnt boil the rice noodles. What I did do is get the pot of water boiling then turned the heat down to mid low while adding the pasta. Then I stired it a few times and 10-14mins later they were done in time to be added to dish. oh and before i forget. add just a lil less vinager than it calls for. Thanks again for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rand0mH3r0 April 30, 2010

I have made this for myself for a while and enjoyed a lot... and then I made it for my boyfriend. He asks for it once a week now, and adores the leftovers. Thanks for the recipe! I double the sauce ingredients, increase the chicken to four breasts, and use snow peas instead of beansprouts, but the rest is perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joani Bond August 08, 2011

It is a great receipe. I believe when stir the bean sprouts quickly is also important because the longer the cooking time, the more water comes out and make the noodle more sticky.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stella yuen November 20, 2003

I usually make Pad Thai the traditional way with Palm Sugar and Tamarind into a sauce ahead of time. I felt like some thai noodles today but didn't want to invest a lot of time. This was quick, easy and tasty. I also would have preferred chilli or sambal instead of the pepper, but other than that it's quick and tasty. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady March 28, 2008

I cook Thai food all the time. I felt that I should of tried this recipe and unfortunately I didn't enjoy it at all. I felt that the black pepper was too overwhelming, I didn't enjoy the black pepper taste. I would of used 3 to 4 fresh Thai chili peppers instead. Chopped up very finely and cooked together with the chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freddie Psychic Medium January 12, 2008

Wow! This recipe rocks. I thought it tasted very authentic and was easy to make. I soaked the rice noodles in hot water instead of boiling them. I used only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of black pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Mimi March 04, 2007

This was a truely amazing dish! I wish I could give it more stars! Thanks for the gem! My friend's aunt, who comes from Thailand, made Pad Thai, and this tasted exactly like this. So don't be put off by authenticity ratings! I think this tastes like the real deal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morgan Khan October 24, 2006

I just wanted to add some tips for this.I have made Pad Thai many times & took cooking classes in Thailand.This sauce is really a "Drunken Noodle" without basil.If you soak the noodles in warm water for 20 minutes they come out great;no cooking,this is how I was taught.Tamarind juice is the real ingredient used and Thai soy sauce that has more of a boullion/caramel taste to it than regular soy.I am not trying to to be petty,just trying to enlighten.Also blanch your mungs sprouts first,much better that way.There are so many Americanized versions of Pad Thai but the authentic ones have very simple ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Somogirl May 26, 2006

This is my first time cooking a Thai dish, it was so easy and fun to make! I followed the recipe exactly, omitting nothing.The taste is beautiful,we ended up eating all of it.Thank You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Karen #2 February 24, 2006

This was a welcome find, as many attempts at making pad thai have disappointed me! I made a few changes -- substituting cooked prawns (shrimp) for the chicken because it was on sale and was cheaper than chicken today at the grocery store. I cooked the eggs (two in this case) in a small non-stick pan adjacent to the other, as I was using a high-sided non-stick wok-style frying pan, with a very small circle at the base to cook the egg in. I also (seeded and) minced two bird's eye chilies and added them to the onion and shallot. I put a dash of ketchup into the vingegar/sugar etc. mix. I substituted rice vinegar for white vinegar. I also used only two teaspoons of oil, and in this case, I used peanut oil. I later added a dash of sesame oil after the onion, shallot and chilies had cooked. Instead of black pepper, I used chili flakes (the kind you shake onto pizza -- the little red ones that are dried and have seeds). I added them near the end, after adding the noodles but before the sprouts and the green onions. After adding the last two things, I squeezed in the juice of a half a lime and tossed it in the pan, before topping with freshly chopped coriander (cilantro) and plating. I didn't have any peanuts so I didn't add them at the end. Missed them. Overall, I am delighted with the result. My variations come from having experimented many times with this dish and remembering what I liked from the recipes that had failed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Lolly* January 14, 2006
Pad Thai (Thai Stir-Fried Noodles)