Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Packet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Packet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2013

      Great potatoes! I baked mine because of the weather and we really enjoyed them. I think that next time I make them I will replace the dill with Italian Seasoning. Thanks for sharing this easy keeper. Made for Best of 2012 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      This recipe is heading into my favorites file! I loved how easy and convenient this side dish was to do as I was grilling the main dish. I kept my packet of potatoes on the grill for about 20 min...maybe a tad bit more...on med-high flame. They actually browned up a bit, which I LOVE but didn't expect with this method. I was happily surprised. I was surprised to see that I was out of onions, so I ended up using shallots and they worked wonderfully! I used just a bit less of the dill - personal preference. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      These were fabulous! I made as directed only cutting the recipe in half and adding some garlic and basil for the dill. Definately a keeper. Served with Pan-Fried Chicken Schnitzel-Style#395542, Baked Tomatoes#7612 and asparagus. Made for Cooking from the Pantry Challenge tag game and Diabetic forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Absolutely perfect side dish to our dinner tonight. I prepared them on the grill as instructed and they were perfectly done in 35 minutes. Loved that I did not have to heat up my oven to get the flavors of roasted potatoes in the summer! Everyone loved the addition of the onion (I used sweet Vidalia) and I used a Pepper/Garlic grinder for the seasoning. Tagged this recipe in I Recommend tag game. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I had to use russets as that was all I had. These tasted just fine... I just like mine with some spice to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      5 star all the way - The photo doesn't show it but they were golden underneath and very very tasty. Will do again. Didn't use any oil just a spray of "No Oil" easy peasy and MMmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      These are wonderful. I made as directed but omitted the dill due to personal preference. They are better than fried potatoes. The onions are delicious. These will be a regular from now on at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      These were awesome! I followed the recipe and also added garlic powder. Very good! I had to buy dill because I never use it and I'm so happy that I did. Thanks so much for posting! Made for Fall PAC '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      I scaled this back to 3 serves and made them individually and we enjoyed it immensely and would definately like to try it with other vegies and maybe even make it a complete meal vegie wise adding cauliflower and greens like broccoli or beans and also carrot or finely slice pumpkin and being able to present all your veg in one pack and you can individually make them to suit each person. For individual packs they took about 25 minutes to bake at 175C fan forced oven as per recipe without extra veg as I suggested. Thank you Breezytoo, made for I Recommend (by WiGal).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Delicious, easy, healthy, & economical! I made this based on Chef#394085's recommendation for the Top Favorites of 2008 Game. We grilled ours with Mom's Pork Tenderloin. Thanks Breezytoo for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      these potatoes are very good reminds me of the good old camping days but done indoors thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Great recipe! Super easy and great flavor. Made in the oven but will definitely keep in mind for the grill. The whole family loved them. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      What a great recipe for the grill! It's very easy to put the packet together and they cooked great on the grill. I will be making these regularly from now on. Thanks for posting a keeper! Made for PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      These were wonderful. I fixed these for supper last night and there were no leftovers. Instead of one big packet, I divided mine up into three packets. I also substituted the oil with some butter flavored canola oil spray. Thanks so much for sharing these with us. Made for PAC Fall/2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I could happily make a meal of these (in fact, I seem to be doing so this evening :-)) I used about three-quarters of a red onion, because I had it already cut, and--liking the idea of slicing the the potatoes--did so. These are utterly outstanding. They are going in my Best of 2008 cookbook right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      What a yummy potato dish. I prepared on the grill along with some ribs. I sliced my potatoes to help with the cooking time. Just delicious. I used Johnny's seasoning salt, but I think the dill is what took this over the top. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Charcoal and I just don't get along since I've moved from AL to PA! I started these on the grill, along with some steaks, over a SCREAMING hot grill. After leaving them about 30 minutes, I put my hand over the coals and could leave it there for WAY too long before it got hot. So, I brought them in, dumped them into a glass baking dish, covered them and cooked them about 8 minutes longer in the microwave. They were DELICIOUS! I didn't want to heat the house up with the oven, but next time I'll do them in the oven in the first place! Can't wait to experiment with different seasonings too! Thanks for posting Breezytoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I am not sure there are enough words to describe the delight of this packet. This brings back memories from long ago, when we, as young girls; went camping and had made something similar to this to savor and fill our stomach after a long hike. From the beginning of the onions, sliced sideways, to chunking the potatoes in neat quarters, seasoning both the onions and potatoes with the salt, olive oil, and dill. This could not be easier and the aroma that appears throughout the farmhouse is enough to bring everybody and their Mother. The cooking times are absolutely right on target here. The caramelization the occurs makes a beautiful presentation, and I plan on serving this many times over. This could be used at picnic where you have a campfire, line up your guests and have them make their own packets. I went beyond the grill here, and put my packet in my woodstove, far corner away from the direct flame, and they came out beautifully. Thank you so much, Breezytoo! Your recipes never let me down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      YUMMMMMY!! I did half the recipe and had leftovers (cooking for 1 is hard to do, but I don't mind leftovers). I like side dishes from the oven when I bake chicken or meat loaf. I baked for about 45 minutes on 375 with my chicken. Thanks Breezytoo!!!!!! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Excellent! Made as directed for the first time , like I usually try to do! ;) I might mess with the seasonings another time but these are very very tasty as is!! I wouldn't sub any regular ole potatoes though. Stick with the red!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Packet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.4
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    29%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 39.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes