Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pacific Salmon Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pacific Salmon Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2008

      My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by how much we liked this. I only have basmati rice in the house, so I'll use 1:1 water/rice quantity next time, 'cause the crust turned out a bit soggy. Also, next time, I might bake it five or so minutes before adding the filling. I tend to avoid celery, but I added it this time, 'cause it seemed important--and I just threw it and the onion into my food processor, which made it really easy. The salmon was home-canned with lemon and olive oil, so I did drain most of the oil and added some water. Also, I was a little nervous about the spices because they didn't seem to want to mix with the milk and egg--maybe I should've beaten them with the egg before I added the milk. I served this with Fried Garlic Asparagus as a side. Thanks, Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Wow! This was great! I made it as posted except I didn't have low-fat milk, only whole milk due to two toddlers, but it turned out fabulous. My husband doesn't like too many new recipes and since we usually eat grilled salmon I wasn't sure but he loved it and said he thinks it's because it has cheese in it and the word "pie" in the name! I was also happy that my "pie" actually looked like Derf's picture, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Very, Very good DH & I really enjoyed it. The leftovers were good reheated for lunch the next day. I used brown rice & didn't use the curry as we are not fans of curry. Other than that made as stated. I am making it again soon using cheddar cheese & garlic. Thanks Dorothy for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Truly delicious, and so simple to make with amazing flavours - and the rice crust makes this a very special tart/pie! I made it almost to specifications - I had extra rice, so I mixed some of it in with the egg filling - and that worked well. Do NOT leave out the spices - they are KEY to this wonderful recipe and made the flavours unique and very tasty - we loved them! I added a pinch of all the spices, but my curry powder may have been more like 1/4 of a teaspoon! Also use good quality red salmon, I used Princes Premium red salmon and it still retained its colour after baking. A real keeper for us Derf, I can see me making it again over the Christmas holiday period as well - it will make a wonderful buffet addition. Oh yes, I had no swiss cheese, so I used French Emmenthal cheese. Thanks for posting - FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      This was a great lunch for us today. I used brown rice but otherwise made exactly as written. It came out just like the picture (a rarity for me) and all the flavors really matched well. I think my pinches must have been a little small, so next time I will increase the seasoning a little. Also think some chopped olives or mushrooms would be good. And perhaps a bit of crushed red pepper for some kick. I look forward to playing around with this. Thanks, Derf, for such a great new way to use canned salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Great recipe and so easy. I had some leftover rice and this used it up beautifully. I followed the recipe exactly except I used mozzarella cheese as that what what I had in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      Five stars as this recipe turned out great just as written. Only change I made was to use a green bell pepper instead of celery, because that is what we had on hand. This recipe was perfect for us last night when we needed a quick dinner with just stuff we happened to have on hand. Used already cooked brown rice, which worked great. Thanks for this recipe. It is tasty, healthy and easy. The little bit of cinnamon, nutmeg and curry was really good in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      I was skeptical of this recipe at first, as I wasn't sure how I would like an almost-quiche form of salmon (I usually eat it grilled plain or as patties with minimal other ingredients). But the custard soaked into the rice crust, and it was much much better than I was expecting. I did need to use more rice than was called for in the recipe, but I'm not sure if that's because I don't have white rice in my house and so I used brown, or if it's because I thought the crust should be thicker. I left out the celery and onions because I don't like them and I left out the nutmeg, curry powder, and cinnamon because I wasn't sure that I would appreciate them in a salmon recipe. I'm sure I will make this again. Thank you for a surprisingly good meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pacific Salmon Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.9
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    37%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 99.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 498.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites