Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pa Dutch Chicken & Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pa Dutch Chicken & Waffles

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2007

      As someone who grew up in Lancaster County, this recipe brings back a lot of great of simpler times and people. This version of the recipe with just a little bit more pepper yields a very authentic version of what I remember, however my mom wouldn't be caught dead making any less than about four times the amount of this recipe!! Us Dutchies can eat, dontcha know?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Wonderful!! Made it like the recipe with only a few mods. Saved to cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      Excellent taste. I am from Lewisburg, Central Pa. We are Dutch, as much as Lancaster, with weekly markets, etc. My only comment, the next time I make it, I am doubling the flour in the thickener. The gravy was way to thin. To thicken correctly, by simmering, you have no sauce left because of cooking time for flour recommended. This is definitely a keeper and a recipe I grew up with. A poster mentioned saffron, an ingredient not in recipe and one not used in Pa Dutch area.where I lived. Also Belgium Waffles, which I love, are not part of Central Pa heritage. I happen to use a Belgium iron to make my waffles, but the recipe is basic waffles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Whoever posted this recipe is the best ever! I've been looking for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I have been looking all over for this recipe!!!! I grew up on this! My Mom and Grandmother used to make it and didn't write the recipe down. I tried to make it from memory but it just wasn't right. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I haven't tried this particular recipe yet but plan to. I am from Lancaster County, Lancaster, PA born and raised. I love Chicken and Wafles and miss my mother making it. I don't use Belgin Waffles since they are sweet and that is not the taste that goes with this great recipie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Wow! This was so good. My DH had never heard of it before, but I had always wanted to make it. I made it exactly per the recipe and served it on Belgian Waffles. I don't know why, but the sauce took forever to thicken for me. I made the mistake of adding a little salt before it was thickened enough. I thought it was maybe a tad too salty when it was ready, but my DH thought it was PERFECT! I cooked a whole chicken and saved the other half to make Chicken Croquettes last nite. I made recipe Chicken Croquettes and they were amazing! Thanks for such a great comfort food recipe, Ocean Ivy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      I first tried chicken and waffles in Lancaster, Pennsylvania when my aunt and I went there on vacation in 2007. The other day, I suddenly had a craving for this dish, so decided to look up a recipe and found this one. I made it in the hopes that it would taste like the dish I had on vacation. This recipe is yummy and, yes, tastes very similar to the dish I had! I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and not very much canola oil in either the main dish or the waffles, so I hope I cut down some on the fat content (yikes)! For anyone who hasn't tried chicken and waffles, it is a rather strange-sounding meal, but very tasty, and really filling and satisfying - sort of like a pot pie on a waffle. Definite comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      As a Lancaster County native, I must say that this recipe is very authentic. It reminded me of what my Mom used to make. I agree that the saffron is a must (the more saffron, the better I say). I didn't have any carrots so I omitted them, but the recipe still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Don't forget the saffron to give it the wonderful golden color...just a few threads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      I used 4 chicken breasts, double up on the clery, bay leaf and carrots (dice small). 4 cups of chicken broth made from chicken soup base. IT was excellent, wife begged for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      Good recipe! For years I heard an old friend talk about how good chicken and waffles were and I had never tried it. I came across your recipe while looking for something to do with excess waffle batter I had. This was so filling! It did seem to be missing a seasoning though, but I couldn't put my finger on it. A definite "make again" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pa Dutch Chicken & Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (487 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.2
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    57%
    Total Fat 28.1 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 121.9 mg
    40%
    Sodium 210.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites