7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sooo comforting, soooo yummy,sooo easy!!! What could be better? Where we live ( in eastern N.C.) this is called chicken and pastry. I made the recipe just as written. Since there are just two of us, I had a lot of left overs for the freezer. While the chicken and gravy re-heated well, the noodles did not. They had a grainy-mushy texture. I will make this again ( and again), but I will cook it without the noodles- perhaps serve it over egg noodles, or rice, or even mashed potaotes.
Thank you so much for a well written delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 February 04, 2012

This receipe is great with beef broth and carrots and onions. Also great with pork broth with hunks of ham or pork, definite old receipt my mom would always make. I'm from pennsylvania

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF LARRYRO April 17, 2011

I made this for my DH and I today and it was sooo good! We moved down south from PA 6 months ago and have been missing a lot of the foods back home. This definately hit the spot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RunninLion November 16, 2008

True comfort food. My family loved this and it was so easy to make. This is a definite keeper! Made for ZWT3 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 27, 2007

This is VERY GOOD!!! I always like those good recipes that everyone in the family will enjoy! I followed the recipe exactly and made my own pot pie noodles (another recipe on this site). Thank YOU Parsley!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seahorsey February 14, 2007

This was pretty darn good.My whole family liked it and it was so easy to make, I had to use wide egg noodles because I couldn't find pot pie noodles where I live. Heck, I had never heard of them until this recipe. I added celery and garlic to ours on accident...I guess I was in a zone somewhere other than where I was suppose to be, but it came out quite good. I'll use this one again! Thanks again, Parsley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmxmama September 27, 2006

I just finished eating this soup and couldn't wait to review it.I followed the recipe exactly as written except I left out the parsley. I love that it uses boneless chicken thighs.It was so easy to cut them up with two forks. No bones floating, very nice. The final result is an absolutely delicious meal. I served it with French bread and butter but will definitely try the white bread next time:). I know I will be making this all winter. Thanks for sharing the ultimate comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) September 14, 2006
Pa Dutch Chicken Pot Pie Noodle Soup