15 Reviews

I turned this into a vegan dish by using vegetable stock instead of chicken broth and by omitting the parmesan cheese. I used brown rice, also. It was absolutely DELICIOUS and my 5 children ate the entire pot! Even my baby girl, who just turned 1, ate 3 bowls of it. Will definitely make this again, especially on those nights my fridge and pantry are bare and I only have staples - as was the case tonight.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HippieVeganMamaTo5 August 27, 2009

I made this on Saturday and planned to freeze half, but DARN, I ate it all by yesterday! Except for using parsley flakes because I didn't have fresh, I followed the recipe and it is so simple to make. My mom made a simpler version (just half-beef-half-chicken broth, potatoes, rice and dried minced onion). It warms the soul. I'm going to try this again using Arborio rice, but already I wish I could give 10 stars. Thank you so much for posting and I'm honored to be the first to review it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn June 11, 2009

I tried it and this was AWESOME!! I used 2 c of water and 4 c of chix broth. I didn't have any fresh ingredients. So I added powdered onion and garlic. Parsley flakes and salt and pepper. I used brown rice and about 3 small potatoes. I also added 1 tblspn of olive oil. I didn't turn into a chowder for me, it stayed "soupy". DELISH. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT July 22, 2012

Made as written this is definately more of a really thick stew than a soup, but I really enjoyed it that way. This was so simple, inexpensive and good. I'll make this again! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD August 14, 2011

I forgot to rate this keeper. We loved it. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest August 18, 2009

This is good but I believe depending on the rice chosen it needs more chicken broth or water than even edited for as per the introduction note! I used white Indian Basmati rice and it just kept absorbing the liquids. I used homemade chicken stock and water. I also think cooking time as another reviewer noted is too long for some types of rice as well, as was the case with the one I used it all broke up almost. This is delicious but I suggest the rice be cut in half as I would do again if I was in need of this recipe (nothing in the cupboard). I did feel the wish to spice mine up so I added lots of freshly ground black pepper and cayenne along with grated halloumi cheese as that is the only cheese I had on hand. It helped tone down the cayenne too. I used yellow fleshed potatoes and sea salt plus the rest. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game Dec. 2010 - Jan. 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat December 29, 2010

This might be a cheapo depression soup but it sure is good! The consistency is almost creamy; thick, warming and filling. I used only 1 tbsp of oil and didn't miss the other 3 tbsp, used 2 potatoes and cut the rice back to 3/4 cup. I still needed an extra 2 cups of water. BTW - I usually always cook my soups 100% with broth and never water, however, you could not tell that this was partially water. I added salt and pepper to taste upon serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini September 26, 2010

Filling and tasty soup! I don't care for onions so left them out, and I didn't peel my potatoes. I had to add the extra water as you suggested and my soup was still thick, like a chowder. Made as directed this was very good; next time I'll probably add a chopped jalapeno and maybe top with a little cheddar. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 18, 2010

Reminds me of rice with onions.DDs loved it.I've only made a half batch.It's very hard to photograph though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia July 29, 2010

Very quick and easy. I started off with 3 cups of broth ( after reading other reviews ) and still had to add one more cup at the end.. Very good soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Valerie March 29, 2010
P.r.soup (Potato Rice Soup)