547 Reviews

I was surprised, but this recipe is the real deal. The beef turned out great and did indeed taste just like PF Chang's. I made a couple adjustments - used only 1/2 C brown sugar and added a couple splashes of rice vinegar to balance the sweetness. I also only used about 2 TBSP veg. oil to fry the meat in and it turned out fantastic.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyss8 June 19, 2012

OMG!! I've been to PF Chang's fairly often in the last few weeks just because I was craving the Mongolian Beef, so I actually came looking for this recipe. This is nothing short of amazing - it is EXACTLY the same, and I feel like this is one of those recipes that you just can't mess up... I sub'd the oil for smart balance, used a lot less, and doubled the servings, and it still came out great! Best of all... it wasn't even that much trouble to make either. I used one big straight-sided pan. Made the sauce, poured it into a pyrex, then did the beef and added the sauce back in later. Cleaned the pyrex while the finished product simmered, then put all the beef back into the pyrex to store. I'm definitely bringing this to work this week. The guys are gonna have food envy.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
santanic June 26, 2011

I have made this a few times now and it is great, My son, who is very particular about how he compliments about food he eats, said it was one of the best dinners he has eaten in a while. I do triple the sauce recipe except for the sugar and cornstarch. I use the original amount of sugar and cornstarch.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DavidinFL2 April 04, 2011

This was awesome!!! I cut back on the sugar by about a third, and stirfried the meat instead of deep frying it. It was a true family hit! This will be a go-to recipe for our family! Thanks!!! ETA: We also add in stir fried sweet onion, red and green peppers, and sugar snap peas. Yummy and better for you! P.S. This is also good made with chicken!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique April 25, 2010

Heres a few adjustments you can make to make this one a perfect clone. Use a small amount of sesame oil in the sauce. Once the sauce cools use a portion of it to marinate the beef in for about an hour. Good Luck!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Williamwhy February 09, 2004

Made this last night based upon all of the reviews and it did not disappoint. It was FABULOUS! I took the advice of another reviewer and marinated flank steak in cornstarch, 1/2 c. low-sodium soy sauce and 2 T hoisin sauce before cooking in the oil. I also used 2 lbs. of flank steak instead of 1 lb., so I adjusted the recipe accordingly. Next time I will only increase the brown sugar by 50%, as it would be okay being not quite as sweet. I was also confused by the water, so at the end I added about 1/2 cup of water to the sauce (we like lots of sauce on the rice), cooked it, and it was still great.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelini October 06, 2011

This was super yummy. We live on an island in AK, and I have had the PF Chang's version many times before! It was just AS GOOD! I would make this again for sure! One tip, get the oil for the beef VERY hot before "deep frying it" to crisp it up a bit. I think that it could have used 1 T of rice wine vinegar to balance out some of the sweet flavor. IT was great as is however. :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KodiakMomma September 19, 2011

Tastes like the real thing. I added steamed broccoli and had enough sauce to cover all of it. Do yourself a favor and use sesame oil in the sauce and peanut oil to cook the meat to make it more authentic...definitely worth it. 1/2 cup brown sugar is perfect. I'll make this again and again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmhonnold March 09, 2010

For a couple posts I saw about tenderizing the beef, there is a trick I learned at school for "cheaper" cuts of beef where you can add baking soda and let that marinate into the beef for about 20 minutes or so, then rinse off the beef, dry and cook normally. Using 1 tsp of baking soda per pound of meat.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefToast February 11, 2012

Per my wife: "Tastes JUST LIKE IT!!" I order the Dan Dan Noodles, personally! I made it by the recipe, except I used filet mignon (cause I got it for the price of flank steak!), and I threw in some snow peas with the green onion because that's the way she orders it. This has a wonderful flavor!! Definitely a keeper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii April 10, 2011
P. F. Chang's Mongolian Beef