399 Reviews

Excellent flavor! To me the lettuce seems irrelevant. It serves no purpose other than being a bowl for the meat. After a couple of minutes it becomes soggy from the sauce. I would rather serve the delicious meat in a bowl and be done with it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gayle #280716 April 09, 2011

Delicious! I made this tonight for my mom and a few of my classmates. Everyone left the table feeling stuffed! I used ground chicken instead. I also purchased spring roll wrappers. You can purchase the large size from an Asian market. Then I had 2 large bowls of water at the dinner table and everyone dips there spring roll wrapper papers in the bowl to get it wet and pilable. Then we all wrapped the lettuce wraps in the spring roll wrapper and dipped the rolls in the special sauce. But this is also delicious without the spring roll wrappers.. just wanted to try something different. Will definitely make this recipe again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 July 09, 2010

I am a firefighter and use this site often to cook for my crew. I have, at fully staffed, 11 guys to cook for at my firehouse and I cooked this the other night. The nice thing is I have a lot of help preping because this is a little tedious but well worth it. Many of the crew were asking for the recipe but I will definitely cook this again.So a big 5 stars from all 11 firefighters and believe me firefighters know good food when they taste it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leemgiroux October 15, 2011

OOOhhhh mmmmyyyyy!!!! these were so good! they hit the craving perfectly. used iceburg lettuce.
I used half of the chili paste and mustard listed and it had plenty of heat (and I like HEAT) so warning to others, go easy... you can always add more but you cant take it out.
next I dound that the special sauce was about twice as much as I needed. so next time I need to double the solids !!!! LOL
I added the special sauce and let it cook for a few minutes.
I used green onions, and regular mushrooms. next time I might use ground chicken to save a step. used the mini chopper for the water chestnuts.
this is a great recipe! next time I might try to make a second sauce using hoisen sauce instead of ketchup just to see on as few bites. by the way the hot mustard I used was the extra hot version, all they had. I only used a teaspoonI will be making this for family events since I can keep it warm in a crockpot etc. and then of course you wrap as you eat so that your lettuce doesnt get soggy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C October 06, 2011

I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I am now the favored employee at all potlucks and other food events at work. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of minced ginger to the stirfry for a little extra ummphh. I also used the Maifun noodles so they are just like the real things! I think my next potluck, I will just make it a topping for a salad to make it a bit more user friendly. Thank you so much for finding out this recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinmama_P June 10, 2010

DELICIOUS! I ended up using ground turkey (for lack of chicken) and adding some oyster sauce (about half as much as the soy sauce), which to me that stuff made it JUST like Pei-Wei's lettuce wraps. I'm so excited about this, I want to make a bunch up and see how it freezes. Thank you so much

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cwoolbright June 03, 2010

I fixed these lettuce wraps tonight and we loved them! The reviews were very helpful and I made some changes based on the reviews by others. I substituted hoisin sauce for the ketchup, green oinons for white, and added minced ginger and garlic powder to the chicken mixture and threw in a cup of chopped carrots. I also stir fried it all together instead of cooking the chicken first as someone suggested. I couldn't find chili paste at the store so I added red chili powder and a little extra hot mustard to the sauce. It was wonderful and really tasted a lot like PF's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salgal11 February 05, 2012

We were really looking forward to eating these wraps, but they just didn't do it for us. The sauce was too ketchup-y and the meat seemed dry, maybe would be better with a bit of fish sauce??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz January 04, 2012

These are delicious! I've always been a huge fan of PF Chang's lettuce wraps but have never really attempted to make it at home. To me, they don't taste exactly like the real thing, but are still really tasty. I did make some adjustments. For me, the special sauce was to sweet and ketchup-y. I added a little more vinegar, sesame oil, and soy sauce. I also added some ginger. The special sauce made A LOT so I actually used that while cooking the meat and veggies (I used ground chicken) instead of the recommended "stir fry sauce". In my experience, soy sauce, even when mixed with sugar, doesn't stir fry well. Also, once it was all said and done, I topped with some fresh cilantro which gave it the perfect added touch. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cristinbeverley October 05, 2011

This took me a little longer than the prep time indicated, but it was well worth it! I don't think it will take as long to prepare the next time . . . and there will most definitely be a next time! My picky daughter gave it an A : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberlee Kay April 14, 2011
P. F. Chang's Chicken Lettuce Wraps