10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A great easy veggi dish. I used fresh sage leaves (I have a yard full), yukon gold potatoes and added an onion. I assembled this early in the day and cooked it when required. Different and good!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo May 06, 2002

This is great, love the texture of this potato dish. It's difficult at any time to get my teenager to eat his vegetables but he cleaned his plate. I also used marjoram. Thanks Lennie. =)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 08, 2002

Easy and fantanstic tasting! I scaled down to 1 serving and used marjoram instead of savory. I didn't have cream, so I substituted with curds (Indian yogurt), which added a lovely tang. I had this with Elizabeth Pagos' Hot Cocoa (#26665) for a very "comfort food"ey dinner. Thanks Lennie! This is going to be a regular on the table from now on!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu May 27, 2002

This was the first recipe I tried here at recipezaar. I didn't have any cream on hand, so I substituted a blend of whole milk & lowfat sour cream. The family enjoyed it - very nice comfort food dish.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PagoGuy December 30, 2002

This is soooo good! I used tarragon and rosemary (didn't have marjoram) and I used half and half instead of cream. The end result is a soft, savory, sort of creamy vegetable dish with a nice crispy crust. The carrot makes it a nice light orange color. Don't skip the onions, they really add to the flavor. Thanks Lennie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish July 10, 2003

We were excited by the positive reviews and tried this dish. We were disappointed to find that it was merely okay and didn't live up to the hype. We won't be making it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 January 30, 2003

Great side dish! The flavor is excellent - very peppery. Accurate instructions and delicious results. The only thing I regret is that I didn't double the recipe - this went so fast! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather October 29, 2003

Chose this to make for Let's Party 2011 and it was pretty easy other than shredding those potatoes. I didn't have any carrots so used celery and it made for a nice side to Art's Funky Grilled Cheese Had plenty of left overs so this morning fried them up for a side of hash browns with breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 08, 2011

I had never used savory before so this was a first for both me and my dh. We loved the taste with the potatoes and carrots. Very good side dish recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl July 28, 2004

I can't really say why I wasn't impressed with this dish! It could be the texture or the flavour (I used marjoram) or a combination of those 2 things. Its probably just my personal tastes since other people loved it. Sorry Lennie but I have to be honest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady April 18, 2004
P.E.I. Potato Pudding