Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oyster Stew Supreme Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oyster Stew Supreme

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2010

      Way to go, Sherri!! Great recipe, and so easy to make. Would have been good the way you submitted, but instead of bacon, I used some leftover ham (from Easter), [cubed]; and 2 medium potatoes [cubed]. Then garnished with 3 sliced scallions. Yummy! My husband loved it, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This is so delicious! I made a half-recipe and followed it very closely. I substituted sake for the dry sherry and left out the parsley (didn't have it). I never really liked oyster stew before because it was too bland. But this is SO GOOD. I will make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Wow this is steps way above my normal oyster stew recipe. My family loved this. The bacon in it had me concerned it would overpower the oyster flavor.....not so. this is my new Christmas Eve soup from now on. thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      This recipe was easy and the results were terrific. Its the best oyster stew I've had, and I've tasted 40 year's worth. If you're a traditionalist with your stew, step it up with this recipe. You wont be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      This is just the perfect oyster stew. The only thing I did different is cut back on the Sherry by 1/2 and added cubed steamed potatoes. I cut this recipe in half because It's just me and I ate it all in 2 and 1/2 days!! That was 2 weeks ago and I want some more!!! So I'm making again tonight..I love it. Thanks so much for the recipe. This is my new go to for Oyster stew!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I enjoyed this oyster stew. My Dad said it is the best he has ever had in his 61 years, so that is saying something. I wish it had more oysters to cream ratio, but that is easily fixed, next time I will add another 1/2 pint or so. Thanks for your recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Made half a recipe but used two cans of oysters. YUMMY loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Tried this recipe 2 years ago for Xmas eve supper. Now I make it every Xmas!!! So delicious and hearty. I would recommend only half a recipe if making just for 2. As with most cream based soups, it doesn't reheat well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I will only use this recipe from now on--excellent! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This is the ultimate oyster stew! Rich and flavorful. I made exactly by the recipe except used half and half instead of cream. This is now our go to oyster stew recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Great tasting stew. Made this for lunch and served it with oyster crackers. We will have this from now on. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This oyster stew is absolutely fantastic. I served our family this stew and they raved over it. It is very rich and creamy. one bowl is plenty. The sherry makes it soo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      My father-in-law was raving about Oyster stew...except his was pretty basic (milk oyster garlic and milk). Although his sounded just fine I had to try this recipe. Boy am I glad I did! It is unbelievable, simple and quite frankly G-O-U-R-M-E-T!!!!!! I will definitely be making it again. The only changes I made was more garlic, about 1.5 tsp fresh thyme and instead of clam juice (none at the store) I used a little chicken broth & didn't even miss the clam flavor. If you have never tried oysters or oyster stew...you gotta try this!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      IT WAS EXCELLENT! I made this evening and it went over big time. Those of you who omit the dry Sherry are missing a treat. I intended to have this recipe as a starter for our dinner and it became the main meal. I served it with a lightly garlic French style bread, toasted under the broiler, along with a chilled bottle of Pinot Grigio. It was excellent. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Love this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      My husband said this was a nice change, but he prefers my blander version of oyster stew which I have been making for years. (Said he likes to taste the oysters, cream and butter.) Thanks for sharing, Sherri!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Wow! I had to leave out the sherry and I had to substitute evaporated milk for the heavy cream and I used cilantro instead of parsley. I made large dices of the bacon so I could lift out after cooking for my hubby but so good. I had to purchase the fresh oysters in the jars. Will I make again? You bet I will. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful! I did not add the potatoes as I wanted oyster stew, which does not have potatoes. My son made this (yes, I was scared!) and he did great. He chopped the onion and celery larger than I would have but that's what gave it some texture and probably took the place of the "needed" potatoes. It was a wonderfully rich and satisfying soup that we will probably make again very soon. I did drizzle just a bit of sherry into each bowl when served - just a bit though! Excellent recipe - thanks for sharing this Sherri Dodsworth!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      Was looking for a hearty and good oyster stew for my VERY picky husband and this one fit the bill. At first the amount of ingrediants was a little surprising, but went together easy and we both loved it and I am NOT a seafood lover. I did add potatoes as suggested in another review & it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oyster Stew Supreme

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.7
     
    Calories from Fat 316
    72%
    Total Fat 35.2 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 20.6 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 136.1 mg
    45%
    Sodium 367.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Wondra Flour

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites