20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is a traditional dish my family has enjoyed on christmas eve for over 30 years. my mother passed away 2 years ago and it fell to me to keep the tradition going. i needed to recheck my memory and had a hard time finding this till i came across your site. many thanks and merry christmas

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mark hoover December 25, 2000

This is the oyster stew I grew up with, except my Mom never measured anything, and I always heated it too much, too fast. This came out perfect, and will be my "go too" recipe from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tucten December 31, 2010

Here is the quintessential recipe exemplifying the axioms "less is more" and "the simpler the better." Perfection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David S #2 December 11, 2014

Used to make a big pot of this with a friend's recipe but I like this smaller version. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nranger7 December 24, 2010

This is a great recipe. My mom always added finely diced onion to cook up with the rest. My mother also said that heating slowly is the best. As soon as the butter is melted it is hot enough.The butter or margarine is always put in whole and straight from the refrigerator. You may pick up your fresh oysters at the store during the holidays and freeze to have on hand when ever you desire. I always check the date and return to the store and purchase on sell by date at a big discount.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjg January 19, 2009

I have a pot on the stove right now. This is pretty much the Gulf Coast standard for Oyster Stew, hard to improve on something this good. Just a couple of tricks if you like a thicker stew. I add a small can of fat free condensed milk, gives it a thicker texture and richer flavor. If it's still not thick enough for you simply add a small amount of instant potato flakes and stir well with each addition. Beth, I'm betting your grandmother might have added a pinch of cayenne. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking202 January 15, 2009

Nice simple flavor. I used our wonderful Gulf (of Mexico) oysters but was unable to achieve the flavor my granmother's had, and hers seemed thicker. I decided to add some, diced very finely, potatoes and then mashed them a bit. It did help to thicken and made it a little hearty. The Ole Bay seasoning was a must in my opinion. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethHallKelley January 14, 2009

This is delicious and easy. It is much the same recipe as the one I have in an old cookbook. I can highly recommend it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 July 10, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe. Easy to make and the taste is awesome. I used canned oysters since I could not obtain fresh oysters here where I live. I have never had such an easy and tasty oyster stew recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red in US March 12, 2008

Great recipe! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spaceyslb January 02, 2008
Oyster Stew