Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Owl's Eyes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Owl's Eyes

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2007

      I took these to a potluck party that had lots of kids and the kids couldn't get enough of them. They were gone in a flash! I could only find square pretzels and i put the hug on top before "baking". Then I pushed in the M&M's. The kids helped with that part and had a lot of fun. I also made some using regular chocolate kisses, only you have to bake them longer to get the chocolate to melt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      I was not able to find the pretzel rings, but i did find some pretzels that were in a tear-drop shape, which worked very well. They didn't necessarily look like owl eyes, but they did look like eyes and they tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I thought I had rated this before but I forgot to. I made these for our Halloween party and they were a big hit, and we've made them ever since for a quick snack. I also had to rummage through the Chex Mix because I couldn't find round pretzel rings. Thank you for the recipe :-) Total KEEPER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      These were so cute! And, I suppose they were good, too, because I didn't even get a taste LOL Will make again, though, when I'm home alone so I can have one! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      I made this exactly as the recipe dictated. As with the others, I could not find a bag of pretzel rings, but, finally realized I had an alternate source for the rings: Chex Mix. I bought a large bag and was able to get enough pretzel rings from the bag to make at least 32 servings (I could have made more, but this was all I needed). I really liked using the Hugs (which also were hard to find), they make it more owl-like in the finished product. Great recipe, in looks, ease and taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      WOW! THese were one of the hits from our Halloween party....a hit especially with the moms and dads! I used the Hugs and M&Ms..however..I couldnt find circle shaped pretzels and I used the suggestion of Peanut Butter PRetzel sandwiches by Snyders. Honestly..I think this makes them taste even better. I will use these for Christmas this year as oppossed to regular pretzels! Did I mention how cute they looked! They were neat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I could not find round pretzels so I used regular pretzels and put the kisses in the top two holes. I used two different kisses, I uses hugs that were white and regular chocolate and I used the new kisses with peanut butter in them. The hug softened better than the peanut butter ones, but both worked. Also I was going to use recess pieses, but could only find the ones with peanuts in them at the store, so I used those. I don't think mine looked like owls eyes, but they still tasted good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      I actually changed every single ingredient, but 5 stars for the idea anyway. Delicious. I used Reese's pieces instead of M&M's, dark chocolate kisses instead of hugs just because they sounded better to me at the time, and I couldn't find round pretzels so I used peanuts butter pretzel sandwiches by Snyder's of Hanover (basically two little round pretzels with the checker board pattern within the circle, stuck together with a little bit of peanut butter). Worked great except when I went to put them in the fridge, I tipped the tray a little and they kind of melted into each other and otherwise got a little deformed when they slid across, so maybe I needed to let them cool a little more before putting them in the fridge or didn't need to let the chocolate melt so long. But I can still see where the name came from, especially if I had used the hugs (white chocolate = whites of the eyes). With the changes, mine came out tasting almost exactly like a HERSHEY'S Take 5 candy bar which I think actually made me happier than they would have without the peanut butter. Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      I made these for a halloween party and they were a big hit. I used regular sized pretzels upside down (so that the two big loops were at the bottom). I choose reese's pieces instead of M&M's for more authentic owl colours (yellow, orange, and brown).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      I guess I must have done this wrong, they just never looked like eyes to me. Tasted goo tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      These are so much fun to make with kids!! My son & I started making them for Christmas when he was 3 and now it's a tradition! This year we used toffee bits instead of m'n'm's for some of them, and I've also heard they're tasty with carmel kisses...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      We also couldn't find round pretzel rings and used regual small pretzels and put the hershey kiss in the upper 2 spots. The folks knew exactly whooose eyes these were. Next time might add a choc in the lower pretzel spot and attach a beak of some sort - 3 dimensional look.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      These are delicious -- the combo of chocolate and pretzels is sooo good! I only had regular pretzels so I just used those and it worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      This was an awsome receipe! I had to change from hugs to rosebuds but it was a big hit at work! EVERYONE thought that they where so cute! My four year old helped me put these together! Great for a kids party as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Great recipe! Easy to make and great for the kids to help also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

    • on December 02, 2004

      These are amazingly good! It's the perfect sweet & salty snack! I had to use mini regular-shaped pretzels (I just set the kiss on top) and they turned out wonderful! I also hardened them in the freezer because I couldn't get my hands on them fast enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      These are so fun! I made some and took them to a party we were having on the nursing unit where I work. The nurses got their hands on them, took them into morning report, and they were gone before they came out of report. They are really cute, DELICIOUS, and several people asked for the recipe. Might be fun to put 3 hugs into the pretzel holes and then use a gumdrop in the bottom hole to make a more defined beak. I think I'll try this next time, although the recipe is great just as written. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      Addictive is the word to describe these. They are like potato chips - bet you can't eat just one! So simple to prepare (my 3 yo DS helped and he had a ball!). I used regular Kisses instead of the Hugs. I put these in the refrigerator for quick setting. I will be making these as a snack for Thanksgiving weekend. Thanks for a fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      Mmmm...These are so good! I couldn't keep my hands out of them. I had to ask my friends to put them on the opposite side of the table from me so that I did not eat them all! I was unable to find the round pretzels, so I used mini regular shaped pretzels. I just put the hug on top of the pretzel and put them in the oven for 2 minutes-they were plenty melted. My husband and I quickly put the m&ms on top, and I put them in the freezer to solidify. I don't think they looked much like eyes, maybe because I had to use the wrong shape of pretzels, but they sure looked and tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Candy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Owl's Eyes

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.7
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    38%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 3.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 17.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 18.0 g
    72%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Hershey's Hugs chocolates

    pretzel rings

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites