27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these this morning for the office. The colleagues loved it. The office smelled like a bakery. I put in chopped up over riped bananas and a handful of chopped walnuts. Mmmm..... The waffles came out crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside BUT they were not as thick as I thought they would be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption October 09, 2008

These have been a family favorite for years in our home! Same exact recipe. We make them on every special morning...like Christmas. They are THAT great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry August 24, 2008

I liked the ease of putting almost everything together the night before, but the waffles had a very strong yeast flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Sweetheart July 03, 2008

We liked these, they taste wonderful! But I had trouble cooking them, I think because of the large amount of butter in the recipe. On the setting I normally use, these came out much too brown. When I lowered the heat, they didn't brown uniformly and didn't get crisp. I got 10 waffles out of the recipe and plan to freeze the leftovers for quick weekday toasted waffles. Thank you for posting Bergy, made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup June 15, 2008

Bergy, thank you very much for this great recipe! I made them this morning and my whole family LOVED IT! Excellent, crispy, tasty waffles! Next time I'll try to make them with the WW Flour as others suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaSept January 26, 2008

Excellent recipe!! My entire family loved it. I also used 6 Tblsps of butter, and 2/3 wheat ("white wheat King Aruthur flour) and 1/3 white flour. Great results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vibha_akk November 19, 2007

These are very good. I used 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla as another reviewer suggested and I'm glad I did. I think next time I may add a few other things just to give it that added boost of flavor, but overall a good recipe that can be altered to your preferences. Thanks so much Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl June 29, 2007

This was the best waffle batter we have ever made. They came out exactly as you had described. So easy to make too! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 January 13, 2007

Bergy, these definitely were the ultimate waffles. Exactly as described by you; crisp on the outside, light on the inside. To keep them that way I put them into a preheated oven (100°C), straight on the racks, as they were cooked. I put 1 teaspoon of vanilla and added 1 Tablespoon extra of sugar (for our tastes). I've only had supermarket waffles once before and couldn't make out what the fuss was about when it came to those rubbery tasting things. Now that I've had your ones I've been converted to a waffle lover. We served these with butter and maple syrup. Thanks for this lovely, easy to put together recipe. I will make these often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie in NZ January 05, 2007

Excellent! This was my second attempt with this recipe. On my first attempt... hubby loved his waffle. The waffle iron died on the second waffle. I could only take his word on how delicious it was. I got my new waffle iron yesterday. Mixed this up last night and served them up for breakast. Very good! Just what a waffle is supposed to be. Light, crisp, rich. The perfect waffle!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
datadoll October 28, 2006
Overnight Waffles