9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This makes perfect oatmeal. The only difference is my crockpot...I cooked on low for 3 hours and it was done to perfection. So, check your crockpot, like ovens and microwaves, they are all a little different. I made it plain without dried fruit because I'm watching my sugar, but otherwise, this is a great recipe. I make it up on Sunday night and then I have enough to take to work with me all week and then just heat it up in the microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbie in sd April 14, 2013

This is delicious! Instead of the dried fig, I often substitute 1/2 cup diced candied ginger with the cranberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon February 04, 2009

In my opinion this is the best oatmeal, but I do not cook mine as long. I use a timer and cook it 4-5 hours. I also use less water. Maybe 3 cups?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal December 28, 2007

I cooked this exactly to recipe, and it turned out fabulously!! I think we will experimemt with other fruit, for variety, but the basic recpie is definately a winner. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VO June 05, 2007

i tried this, and i got a gelatinous gross mess. I used steel cut oats from the health food store, and omitted the figs, and added 1/2c walnuts, maybe that was my mistake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diamondodge January 26, 2007

I thought this recipe was great. I normally can't stand (bl)oatmeal but, I like the texture and taste of the steel cut oatmeal. This recipe gets 4 stars and AB's quicker cooking version gets 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tfsjqp July 25, 2006

Steel cut oatmeal doesn't have the same texture as "Old Fashioned Quaker." If one expects the creamy slurry of Quaker, then traditional oats will disappoint. This is how I make steel cut oats, or I soak them in a pot over night, and cook for 20 minutes in the morning. There is a DISTINCTIVE difference between steel cut and Quaker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amsaus February 20, 2006

I was so excited to try this-breakfast ready in the morning when I got up? Yeah! Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. The oatmeal was very starchy and gummy and the flavor was off. I made it exactly as directed and had it on low overnight for 7.5 hours. What a disappointment:(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenlyn33922 February 04, 2006
Overnight Oatmeal